Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

New Contributor
My Device: Playbook 7" 64g
My Carrier: None

Files becoming inaccessible on Playbook

Hi,

I recently purchased a Playbook, so I'm pretty new to it.

I have been looking for a versatile Office suite : one of the main reasons I wanted a tablet to start with.  Docs to Go doesn't give many options for text and paragraph formatting, plus I have troubles opening and working with my Excel sheets with it (somme cells with formulas become "N/A" and locked for some reason).  Other suites that I bought through AppWorld also lack functions that I need.  So I have been trying alternatives.

So far, OfficeSuite Pro (sideloaded) has proven the most complete solution : giving me options to format paragraphs, insert footnotes, tables and images.  But the following problem occurs : some *docx files that I create or modify with it, once saved on the PB, become inaccessible.

More precisely, I can see them with browsers installed on the PB, but cannot copy or move them.  When I try, I get "File is not accessible", "Permission denied" error messages.  I can still open them with OfficeSuite.

Also, When I look in the folder where I've saved them through WIndows Explorer, over wi-fi or usb connexion, those files simply don't appear. 

Additionally, I've tried to create a docx file on my pc with the same name as one of the inaccessible ones and then transfer it to the folder on the PB, and I get an error message.

And also, I've tried to attach the files to an email as a workaround : gmail also gives me an error message.

In short, nothing can access those files except OfficeSuite, and there's no way to transfer them to my pc.