Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-08-2012
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Orange

Re: GPS on Playbook

Trying to follow this thread is pretty difficult. I have tried appworld - the 4th and fifth programs under relevance are not just called 'compass' so no wiser there. I think we are all now clear about mapping sotware using GPS technology. I too am looking for a way to make a mapping app use gps and help me locate my current position. Bing maps has not done that (i have been trying for 3 months) nor does OSMAND or googlemaps through the browser.

So my question for those who know a definitive answer is: how can i check if the GPS functionality is turned on and working?

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,483
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 + Z30 + Playbook 64
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: GPS on Playbook

Try Magellan Compas, it is very good, and the latest version of the program even let you cache maps so that you do not need any connection once the maps are cached

---------------------------------------------
Using the Playbook and the Z10 and the Z30 and loving them

Martin
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 6,473
Registered: ‎12-08-2010
My Device: PlayBook, Z10
My Carrier: none

Re: GPS on Playbook

alexstone, the reason you can't find "Compass" appears to be that it's been pulled from App World.

Peter Hansen -- (BB10 and dev-related blog posts at http://peterhansen.ca.)
Author of White Noise and Battery Guru for BB10 and for PlayBook | Get more from your battery!
Super Contributor
Posts: 431
Registered: ‎04-30-2011
My Device: DTEK60
My Carrier: DCI Telecom

Re: GPS on Playbook

I am disappointed with Magellan V3.  It downloads map tiles only. Hard to know how far the tiles cover the area.

 

I am much happier with the "Navigator". It is a converted Android app, available on the Playbook App World under maps and navigation. It allows you to download map sections by states, provinces and countries in Europe.  Still short on maps. They are working on then. The US, Canada UK and for some reason Austria are already covered.

 

Some functions, particularly searches still need network connection for both apps. But that's OK with me. 

 

Try it you might, like it.

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-17-2012
My Device: TORCH / BLACKPAD
My Carrier: BELL CANADA

Re: GPS on Playbook

Tried Navigator and liked it very much. I wanted to load it onto my Asus Transformer too but couldn't find it on Google Play. Any idea where it came from?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
My Device: Playbook 32
My Carrier: Airtel, India

Re: GPS on Playbook

My location still doesn't work with OS 2.

 

Does it have the required harware or is there a problem with the one that I have?

 

Piyush

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎04-25-2011
My Device: Using Unlocked Passport, VZW Classic, Two Z10's, Playbook, Q10
My Carrier: Verizon Wireless, AT&T MVNO Consumer Cellular

Re: GPS on Playbook

I tried Navigator, but the screen keeps going blank and tracking turns off.

 

Magellen Compas works pretty good, but I can't seem to get all of the map detail cached like I want.


John Hanks
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-17-2012
My Device: TORCH / BLACKPAD
My Carrier: BELL CANADA

Re: GPS on Playbook

Just used Navigator to guide us through the wilds of Northern New York state from Canada to Watkins Glen and back. The app worked flawlessly. My only problem is the inability to turn off the power saving 'time out' function that puts the Play book to sleep every few minutes.VERY ANNOYING!!

Super Contributor
Posts: 431
Registered: ‎04-30-2011
My Device: DTEK60
My Carrier: DCI Telecom

Re: GPS on Playbook

[ Edited ]

Fully agree! The PlayBook should extend its power management to keep the screen on, when the application requires it, such as navigation apps. At least when it is connected to a charger. Smart power management could turn off the screen while "following the course of the road" for longer time periods and turn it back on before the next instruction automatically. In addition, touching the display at any time would allow checking the progress of travel if desired, without the need to swipe. 

 

This is an OS function, certainly not impossible to ask for. How about RIM?

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,483
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 + Z30 + Playbook 64
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: GPS on Playbook

If you can get Magellan Compass 3.0, it does keep the screen on while it on

---------------------------------------------
Using the Playbook and the Z10 and the Z30 and loving them

Martin