Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

My Device: Blackberry Playbook
My Carrier: N/A

Impossible to connect BB Playbook to Windows 8 PC

Hi all,

I'm new to Blackberry/Blackberry OS, and after numerous searches I have decided to post here in the hope that you can help me.

I have my BB playbook since yesterday, and up until now it has been completely IMPOSSIBLE to connect the device to my windows 8 x64 HP laptop via USB. I have tried reinstalling the drivers, the desktop software (which, btw, appears to be completely useless) and the BB OS. Nothing has helped. I am kind of in despair here.

When I look under 'Device Manager'/Network Adapters (in Windows), it says that 'This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device. (Code 31)'. However, the drivers were installed from the BB playbook, so I have no idea how to fix this.

Has anyone had a similar experience, and were they able to fix it?

Thanks in advance!

My Device: Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: Bouygues Telecom (France)

Re: Impossible to connect BB Playbook to Windows 8 PC

HI,

you need to activate .NET Framework 3.5 before installing your Device Manager:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh506443.aspx

Best regards,

Laurent

Contributor
My Device: 64GB Playbook and 9330 Phone
My Carrier: Rogers

[ Edited ]

Hi, that fix does nothing.  

I have spent hours on this on a Toshiba Portege laptop Windows 8 64bit.....and still can't get it to connect.  

Usiing old BB Desktop software....New BB Desktop software.....Connected via USB 2.0....or 3.0...nothing.

Scurrying around the net....I can see many have tried...and given up.

Looked around these forums also....Blackberry Folks....you need to wake up...and actually post a fix...or an update indicating you are working the issue.