Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: Qtel

PlayBook .. problem and question

hi

 

I have a problem and a question 

 

the problem is i connect my bold 9700 with the playbook by the bridge. it connected sucsseful and i can open the files, messeges, notes, calendar.. etc. the problem is the bbm cant opened. it stuck in the loading wheel screen. i wait for more than 30 min. but nothing happened.

 

the bbm version is 5.0.3.22

the bridge in the bold is 1.0.0.83

the playbook software is 1.0.3.1868

 

 

 

 

 

thanks

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: Qtel

Re: PlayBook .. problem and question

sorry i forget to write my question

 

when the playbook will have arabic keyboard?

 

the arabic people are interest with the device but it missed the arabic keyboard

Super Contributor
Posts: 323
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: PlayBook .. problem and question

You have the latest software versions so it should work. Have you tried rebooting your Playbook and BlackBerry? If that doesn't work perhaps try deleting the Bluetooth association on the Playbook and BlackBerry and then set it up again. Maybe something got messed up the first time.
----------
BESX 5.0.4, SQL 2008, Exchange 2010 SP2 RU4a
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: Qtel

Re: PlayBook .. problem and question

Thank you for replying first

I already reboot the both devices but the problem remain the same

I also delete the bloutooth association on both, i do it twice and the problem remain the same
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: Qtel

Re: PlayBook .. problem and question

any solution ??
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: Qtel

Re: PlayBook .. problem and question

no idea??

please i need your help
Developer
Posts: 863
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: Z30 / PlayBook 64GB
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile UK

Re: PlayBook .. problem and question

Just curious.

 

What version of the OS are you running on your Bold? It might be worth updating that if you can.

 

As for the Arabic keyboard - I'm sure that the PlayBook will have one when it's released over there.


Follow me on Twitter1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: Qtel

Re: PlayBook .. problem and question

The OS version in my bb bold is 6.0.0.499, platform 6.6.0.189
Developer
Posts: 863
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
My Device: Z30 / PlayBook 64GB
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile UK

Re: PlayBook .. problem and question

Well, I'm surprised that this is playing you up. Anyway, before doing anything else I'd try deleting ALL bluetooth associations on the BB and the PB, uninstall the Bridge App. Reboot both devices and try again. You never know...

If it STILL doesn't work:

I'd suggest a couple of things.
1 - I'm running 6.0.0.534 with no trouble - give that a go. Backup first, obviously.
2 - Try installing and connecting the Bridge before you restore all of your data and apps. If it works, then restore and try again.

I'm working on the assumption that either that particular OS is causing trouble (unlikely), or that there is something on your phone that is meddling with the Bluetooth connection somehow.

Good luck!

Follow me on Twitter1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
My Device: playbook
My Carrier: Qtel

Re: PlayBook .. problem and question

Thank you for replying first

I tried all soluotion that you wrote it for me one by one

But tge problem still remain the same

I dont know whats wrong

I update my bb and bbm and still i cant get it