Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
My Device: 16GB Playbook
My Carrier: None

Playbook Connection to Computer

I have a 16GB Playbook. When it is connected to the computer, it displays a message that it is connected. When I attempt to synch media, it tells me it can't, and there is a communication error. Based on what I have read on the forum I have: attempted to connect when the wireless is off - makes no difference; gone to the network, where it doesn't show up on My Computer, but is recognized as a local network (Local Area Connection 3, with IPv4 connectivity as local, APv6 as limited, Media state as enabled), and shows up on Network and Sharing as this local network; and ensured that Client for Microsoft Networks is turned on. What am I missing?

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,359
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: Z10 & Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Re: Playbook Connection to Computer

What OS are you using on the computer? Did you try deleting the RIM drivers on the pc and reinstall then.
Be a Shepard and not an iSheep.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
My Device: 16GB Playbook
My Carrier: None

Re: Playbook Connection to Computer

Vista Home Premium, Service Pack 2 - no, I didn't try the driver fix, but will

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,359
Registered: ‎04-19-2011
My Device: Z10 & Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Re: Playbook Connection to Computer

I had the driver on Vista products.
Be a Shepard and not an iSheep.
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: Playbook Connection to Computer


g_will3 wrote:

Vista Home Premium, Service Pack 2 - no, I didn't try the driver fix, but will


You say it will not sync, but if you open an explorer window in pc documents, and another window in the mapped drive "media" folders in playbook, can you drag n drop?

_________________________
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-22-2012
My Device: 16GB Playbook
My Carrier: None

Re: Playbook Connection to Computer

Good question - although it shows up as a network connection, it doesn't show up as a mapped drive - it doesn't show up in Computer as a drive or a device.