Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Playbook 64GB
My Carrier: Vodafone India

Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected

Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected - need help. I am having window 7

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected


rakeshranjan wrote:

Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected - need help. I am having window 7


Win 7 can be difficult.   Make sure all the options for network discovery, sharing etc are on.

Make sure win 7 is set to ask for username and password when yiu login. Reboot pc.

 

On Playbook go to settings, Storage and Sharing.

Change USB connection from automatic to Windows

Click on Network identification, Properties. Yiu will see Tablet network name, workgroup, username. Change username from 'playbook' to the account username you use on Win 7 login.

Go to settings, security. Change playbook password to be same as win7 password.

 

Try again

 

 

_________________________
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Playbook 64GB
My Carrier: Vodafone India

Re: Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected

No Buddy it ain't working. Everytime I am connecting my PB I'm getting this message

 

"Blackberry desktop sofware cannot communicate with the connected device"

 

can you help me further ?

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Playbook 64GB
My Carrier: Vodafone India

Re: Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected

while connecting my PB with laptop the message "Driver installation failed" is coming. when i chk the detail of that it says "Research in Motion Network Device #2" not installed. Although tablet with correct PIN is visible on Desktop sofware page. can u help ?

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected

Uninstall desktop software.

 

Then uninstall any usb devices connected to blackberry which may be stopping the correct driver being installed as follows..

 

In Windows 7 the first thing you’ll need to do is open a command prompt in administrator mode. Type cmd into the start menu search box, and then use Ctrl+Shift+Enter to open in administrator mode. (You can also right-click on the command prompt and choose Run as Administrator) 
Now copy the following line and paste it into the command prompt 
SET DEVMGR_SHOW_NONPRESENT_DEVICES=1    

and hit enter.
Then type in   devmgmt.msc    and hit enter to start up Device Manager from the administrator command prompt:
Once you are in Device Manager, go to the View menu and choose Show Hidden Devices, which will now show all the device drivers including things that aren’t currently installed in your computer.
Open up USB devices section. Look for anything that looks like a blackberry driver  (there may not be any)
You can right-click on the driver and then choose Uninstall from the menu to remove the drivers .

 

Reboot PC

 

Download and install latest version of blackberry desktop software.

 

take it from there.

_________________________
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Playbook 64GB
My Carrier: Vodafone India

Re: Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected

After doing all the suggested step and after reinstalling desktop software, when I connected PB driver installation failed message came which further reads as

 

Device driver software was not successfully installed

Please consult with your device manufacturer for assistance getting this device installed

USB Composite Device                                                  Ready to use

Research In Motion Network Device #2                       Failed

Blackberry Smartphone                                                   Ready to use

 

Please help

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected

[ Edited ]

If your phone is tethered release it. Don't like the software detecting your phone. . Also turn off PB wifi before trying to connect by USB.

 

If that fails, I suggest you repeat the above to access drivers for hidden devices but this time look in network adapters devices in the device manager and ininstall them the same way and reinstall.   I am no longer on Windows (thank goodness) I move over to Mac, so I can't fully describe what to look for in the device manager. 

_________________________
New Developer
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-07-2012
My Device: Playbook 32gb, Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: Wifi

Re: Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected

[ Edited ]

Its problem wid ur win7 os.

I too had the same and contacted bb helpline

But the problem wasnt solved

I connected it on other pcs successfully though.

After reinstalling win7 on my pc...it easily connects now.

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected

[ Edited ]

adityas06 wrote:

Its problem wid ur win7 os.

I too had the same and contacted bb helpline

But the problem wasnt solved

I connected it on other pcs successfully though.

After reinstalling win7 on my pc...it easily connects now.


That's a bit of a sledge hammer. The problem is the device manager is probably clogged with an obsolete driver. New install of win7 would clear it, so would what I suggested. 

 

Windows tries to help by hiding drivers for anything that is not connected, hence the application of the above commands in admin mode. 

_________________________
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎06-07-2012
My Device: Playbook 32gb, Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: Wifi

Re: Playbook visible on Desktop software but not getting connected

I had the same problem

I used the 90 days service helpline

They tried to help for more than a fortnight through voice as well as email but the problem wasnt solved.

There could be other ways.

Its just that i had my win7 os reisntalled after which there was no such issue.