Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-28-2011
My Device: Playbook 16
My Carrier: alaint

Restore PB to factory default

[ Edited ]

Restoring the PB to factory default.

 

1. Open PB Desktop Manager

2. Connect PB to PC

3. Once connection is established go to "Help" should show no updates

4.  Hard restart PB pressing power button and select "restart"

5. Once restart has begun Desktop Manager will display a popup window "option to Update" select update

6. This will take a long time approximate 15-20 minutes while the Original OS is downloading from RIM server

7. Follow on screen instruction at end

 

The original factory install will have been restored (all images, videos original games etc) . You need to re-initialize the PB from the start, just as if you just got it home from your store purchase.

 

NOTE: a security wipe does not restore the PB to factory Original.

 

Hope this helps

 

 

eastcoastcreative
Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
My Device: Blackberry Z10 and Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Restore PB to factory default

Yes, that worked. Thanks for your help!

Regular Contributor
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-28-2011
My Device: Playbook 16
My Carrier: alaint

Re: Restore PB to factory default

glad to help

eastcoastcreative
Regular Contributor
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-28-2011
My Device: Playbook 16
My Carrier: alaint

Re: Restore PB to factory default

bump

eastcoastcreative
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
My Device: RDJ21WW
My Carrier: XL

Re: Restore PB to factory default

Yes this work for me. Thanks
Regular Contributor
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎04-28-2011
My Device: Playbook 16
My Carrier: alaint

Re: Restore PB to factory default

perfect

 

kudo me please Smiley Happy

eastcoastcreative
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2011
My Device: playbook 16 gig
My Carrier: none

Re: Restore PB to factory default

i am following instructions yet keep getting no updates so thus cant resotre to factory default

Guru III
Posts: 32,244
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Restore PB to factory default

I have done this and you have to power off the playbook while checking for updates in desktop manager.

 

took me a few tries to time it right.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2011
My Device: playbook 16 gig
My Carrier: none

Re: Restore PB to factory default

i have been trying that. do i have the wrong version of desktop manager? got the latest from blackberry's site. says my version on playbook is 1.0.3 bundle 1068. do i need to wipe it 1st?

 

Guru III
Posts: 32,244
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Restore PB to factory default

you dont need to wipe it first.

 

if you just download desktop manager, it should be the latest version at 6.0.2.44 (PC version)

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V