Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
My Device: Priv
My Carrier: rogers
Accepted Solution

can a tethered phone also be bridged (to the same PB) ?

My friend has tethered her PB to her blackberry bold as she couldn't bridge successfully. Now she has her bridge and bbm s/w updated on her blackberry, but cannot bridge (and get her bbm across). I am wondering is this perhaps because she is already tethered. If so, how does one untether?

Guru III
Posts: 32,253
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: can a tethered phone also be bridged (to the same PB) ?

Both use Blue Tooth to connect and only one can be used at a time.

 

Turn off the BT tether connection on smart phone so Bridge can make a connection after.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
My Device: Priv
My Carrier: rogers

Re: can a tethered phone also be bridged (to the same PB) ?

Thanks.

 

To clarify, she wants to permanently remove the tethering. I need to know if that is possible and if so, how ? Then she can attempt to bridge the 2 devices now she has the  updated s/w on her phone. You are suggesting the tethering can be deleted via the phone? Can you elaborate? (As she has been unable to bridge since tethering and despite the new s/w, I had suspected the tethering was blocking her efforts). I can appreciate that the tethering and bridging cant happen at the same time....so if a phone is tethered, you can't set up bridging, right?

 

I really appreciate your help. Can you explain how the tether is removed on the phone?

Guru III
Posts: 32,253
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: can a tethered phone also be bridged (to the same PB) ?

delete the BT pairing in BT profile on both devices.

 

then it will no longer tether.

 

Then set up Bridge.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
My Device: Priv
My Carrier: rogers

Re: can a tethered phone also be bridged (to the same PB) ?

Thanks, now I geddit....

Regular Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2011
My Device: Playbook and Torch
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: can a tethered phone also be bridged (to the same PB) ?

I have my Playbook both tethered and bridged to my BB Torch (AT&T) at the same time. I just turned off WiFi and was able to both browse using the standard browser and also get emails throught bridge.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-02-2011
My Device: 8520
My Carrier: airtel

Re: can a tethered phone also be bridged (to the same PB) ?

jan17'2012 i hv a 9530 bb mobile.

 

bb is bridged to my playbook and works good.

 

i am trying to have BT tetherbridge connected thru the mobile phone. connectivity checking fails repeatedly. cant connect effectively to the bb mobile.

 

my question: can bb mobile & playbook be configued for both the bb bridge & BT tetherbridge, and used alternatively as required.