Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

Reply
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
My Device: Torch 9800, PB 16G
My Carrier: Att

help with BB desktop

OK, when i try to connect it tells me it cannot connect need to update my PB, dont want to do that as i cannot backup the PB i know my windows firewall is set to allow BB any suggestions

Guru III
Posts: 32,134
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: help with BB desktop


malie1 wrote:

OK, when i try to connect it tells me it cannot connect need to update my PB, dont want to do that as i cannot backup the PB i know my windows firewall is set to allow BB any suggestions


Dont do the update yet as it could wipe all your info

 

What PC OS?

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Trusted Contributor
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
My Device: Torch 9800, PB 16G
My Carrier: Att

Re: help with BB desktop

That is exactly what i thought, 

 

My OS is windows 7 

The straange thing iss it was working fine hooked up to BBdesktop and it just quit working i didn't change anything, funny thing is my phone (9800) works fine

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: help with BB desktop

If yoyr message was "cancel, retry or update" then bbdesktop thinks your playbook is off. Try unplugging the micro usb a few times, gently with desktop closed. Then try again. The micro usb port is prone to damage and wear. 

 

If the message was something  like "you have os 1.0, update available" then it's a known bbdesktop bug. Try restarting everything. 

_________________________
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
My Device: Torch 9800, PB 16G
My Carrier: Att

Re: help with BB desktop

I,ll try that

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
My Device: Torch 9800, PB 16G
My Carrier: Att

Re: help with BB desktop

still doesnt work, have tried everything, the usb cable is not bad says my device manager is working properly, says i need  to update, dont want to do that because i dont want to update before backing up, have a lot of stuff i dont want to lose

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: help with BB desktop

I asked what the message was but you didn't give the information requested. 

 

OK  let me spell it out again. ...

 

If your message is that it cannot connect, with Options "Cancel, Retry or Update"  (note three options are offered) then it thinks the playbook is off, so the Playbook usb port or cable is suspect. But it sounds like thisis not your message.

 

If your message is that you have out of date OS and an update is available, with update as the only option, then it's a known blackberty desktop software bug. Try uninstalling and reinstalling the desktop software.

NB You can also try Blackberry Link instead.

 

 

 

 

_________________________
Highlighted
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎04-29-2012
My Device: Torch 9800, PB 16G
My Carrier: Att

Re: help with BB desktop

Very strange, opened the desktop software a few moments ago and it is working just fine, don't know why or how but it is fine now

Problem solved