Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™

New Contributor
My Device: Playbook, Playbook, BB Curve 8520
My Carrier: orange

help with a stolen PB

Hi,

My name is Carmen, I am a journalist, I live in Bucharest, Romania, Eastern Europe. 

My 7 years old daughter had her Playbook stolen, I'm afraid. I'd like to block it. I have the pin, the box etc, I'd really like to make it impossible for the person who took it to use it. Thanks for your answers. 

Carmen 

Developer
My Device: BlackBerry Z10, PlayBook, 9900
My Carrier: Telus

Re: help with a stolen PB

To clarify are you sure it was stolen?... or could it have been left by accident and picked up by a stranger (possibly returned to a lost and found)?

I ask as if there's a chance at the latter you might want to see if you can contact the device vs. Shut it down.

E.g. I wonder if another PB owner could attempt a video chat to the device to see if it was found.

Also do you know if it had a password set on it?

PS if you think it might be reachable don't post the PIN on here publicly, try to find someone you trust (or DM someone on this forum you trust) to see if they can help you out.

PlayBook Apps: DataMine, Dots + Boxes, 5 Marbles
BlackBerry SmartPhone Apps: 5 Marbles Soon: **** (D.Z.A), ****Quest, **** Challenge, VaultCracker, DevBrowser, Radial****
New Contributor

Hi,

First of all, let me thank you for your kind words. 

I'm quite sure the PB was stolen. My daughter took it to the yard of our house, climbed a fence to take a photo of a flower, then climbed down. And she thinks she left it on a lower part of the fence, only for a minute, as she came inside to have some water.