Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® PlayBook™


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: N/a
Accepted Solution

playbook menu bar

[ Edited ]

well last night i moved all icons from menu bar....(i do this regularly..depending on the apps i use)

 but this time i removed all the icons.. 

i then tried to put some back  there.....to my dismay they just disappeared..l cant find them anywhere in my playbook..

 

so i am missing a few internet shortcuts..but mostly im missing my app world icon..

 and everything i try to put in the bar disappears...

 

do i have to reset my playbook(or wipe it as u all call it)

Thanks all

Chris

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: playbook menu bar

Move ALLremaining icons into the quick bar, ignore any array error messages, restart playbook. They should all come baxk

_________________________
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: N/a

Re: playbook menu bar

I will try that 

Thank you

Let u know if it works or if it doesnt

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: playbook menu bar

There is a knowledge base article KB33078

_________________________
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: N/a

Re: playbook menu bar

That was a great help..

  I also read the article on this issue..

Only remaining question is ..i have three panes.

.one for al the defaults apps that came with the book

Number 2 is for all the games i have bought   (whitch i dont wont to lose)

Number 3 is tv apps i have bought..

 

Do i have to move all these into bar

Before i do a restart

 

 

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,625
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
My Device: Two PB's

Re: playbook menu bar

I guess so, it says all icons. If you need to completely reset to factory state, all apps purchased from BB World can be reinstalled onto that and any other Playbook using that BB ID, from your Uninstalled list. 

 

_________________________
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: Playbook
My Carrier: N/a

Re: playbook menu bar

Thank you jarv...

I will do this after dinner tonite..

After i copy some documents..

Thank you for the quick responce and advice

Peace out

....chris...