Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Push Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Developer
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Simulator attached to Real BES

Hello

 

I have attached my simulator to a "real" BES, I am receiving emails to the simulator as expected, however when I carryout a push to the BES, it does not get to the simulator. I see no channel and the pushed cache is empty.

 

I was just wondering if it is possible to push content to a Simulator via a real BES.

 

Thanks

 

Andrew

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,888
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Simulator attached to Real BES

This should work.  Are you able to use the BlackBerry Browser in the BlackBerry Smartphone Simulator?  Have you deleted the simulated service book cod file?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Developer
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Simulator attached to Real BES

Hi Mark

 

Yes I can browse the internet. I get all emails, it activates with no probelms.

I renamed the cod file and deleted the dml files.

 

I just can't get any pushed data.

 

1 thing, I turn all connections off, so top right hand corner says OFF.

 

I've tested on a few different sims and its al the same.

 

Thanks

 

Andrew

Developer
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Simulator attached to Real BES

Hi Mark

 

Does the PIN of the simulator have to match the PIN on the real device for pushes to work?

 

Thanks

 

Andrew

Highlighted
BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,888
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Simulator attached to Real BES

You don't need to change the PIN of the BlackBerry smartphone simulator.  Having 2 devices with the same PIN on the same BlackBerry Enterprise Server will also cause issues.

 

Are you submitting the push using the simulators PIN or email address?  What response code do you receive from the MDS Connection Service in your push application?

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Developer
Posts: 189
Registered: ‎08-13-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Simulator attached to Real BES

OK thanks Mark

 

I think I am starting to understand what the issue is here.

 

I'm using the same email address for my sim as my real device, and I am pushing using the email address.

 

I'll change the email address for my simulator and check out if tha works.

 

Thanks for your help

 

Andrew