Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums on April 1st. BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: MTN

BB Q10 Keyboard layout not changing

The Keyboard layout of my blackberry Q10 is QWERTZ, however, I tried to change it to QWERTY under Language, Text Input, Input Languages, but nothing happens.

 

Any idea on how to fix that?

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: BB Q10 Keyboard layout not changing

In Languages Input when you select QWERTY did you select Save on the Top right corner??
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: MTN

Re: BB Q10 Keyboard layout not changing

Yes I did....a couple of times even to just to make sure.

Developer
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: BB Q10 Keyboard layout not changing

Have you try doing a reboot??
I am on OS 10.1.0.2342
I have try switching between QWERTY & QWERTZ and both work fine for me.
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: MTN

Re: BB Q10 Keyboard layout not changing

I tried that, still didn't work.
I am on OS: 10.1.0.238
Developer
Posts: 1,185
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: BB Q10 Keyboard layout not changing

I found this:

Post # 5 Says
"This "switch in the OS" is not functional under OS10.1.0.238"

http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry-q10-f272/change-keyboard-qwerty-qwertz-802464/
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Q10
My Carrier: T-mobile Hungary

Re: BB Q10 Keyboard layout not changing

I have exactly the 238 build and the change does not work. This is not a carrier locked phone I picked it up in a local phone store unlocked.

I tried restarting, everything, still qwerty. This is really bothering me. 

Does anyone have any idea why the switch is not working, or what should I do?

Thanks

Developer
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎12-17-2012
My Device: Bold 9900, PlayBook, DevAlphaC, Z10LE, Passport, Priv
My Carrier: o2

Re: BB Q10 Keyboard layout not changing

[ Edited ]

same for me on 10.1.0.4780... i changed the layout from qwerty to qwertz (+ changed the keyboard!) and its typing z/y wrong... :-(

 

any workarounds for that problem?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-21-2013
My Device: BlackBerry Q10
My Carrier: T-mobile Hungary

Re: BB Q10 Keyboard layout not changing

I do not know a workaround, but on the newest leaked OS (10.2.0.1047) the change is working, even on the Q10.