Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-19-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Vodafone

BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

I am running a security wipe on a Q10.. It's been going for over an hour.

 

I've read it can take around 15 minutes but this is ridiculous.. I don't think it's working. The phone was only a few days old and has had very little use.

 

I was about to pull the battery when I read that that will cause the software to be reloaded. 

 

The screen just has a swirly timer going around and what looks more like a printer icon.

 

Any ideas what to do? I don't have much confidence it's going to finish, it feels like a bug.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-19-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

Ok so it took 1 hour and 10 minutes to wipe a phone that had a few days use..

 

woah..

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-04-2013
My Device: BB Q10
My Carrier: Etisalate

Re: BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

Hopefully next time it would be faster

Regular Contributor
Posts: 1,453
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Blackberry Classic
My Carrier: Swisscom

Re: BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

Have you got encryption switched on? With encryption it takes longer to wipe.

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-20-2013
My Device: blackberry Q10
My Carrier: maxis

Re: BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

Mine has been over than 3 hours. Aŕggggg
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-04-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: XL

Re: BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

me too... more than one hour i guess...

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-03-2014
My Device: 9320
My Carrier: etisalat

Re: BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

This is serious... I started mine late last night and it's still telling me "Security Wipe in progress". This is over 6 hours.  Any ideas on what i can do?

New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-03-2014
My Device: 9320
My Carrier: etisalat

Re: BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

Hello.. so what did you eventually do? Mine has been running for over 6 hours
New Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-12-2013
My Device: Q10 & PlayBook
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

Mine ran close to 3 hours. Quite strange.

-pac

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-03-2014
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EE

Re: BB10 security wipe on a Q10 is taking a VERY long time.

I'm having this issue too, big time. Admittedly, I did the security swipe because I realised I was using 7.8GB of my 8GB limit and having loading issues, presumably because of that. There was no easy way to clear everything else at once. I've done a security swipe before when I first got the phone, and it took approx 2 hours. This time it's been going for 12 hours (!!!!) and it's still loading! I'm just getting the sim-esque image and a loading circle, whatever I do.

 

I'm on a Q10 so I can't remove the battery, I don't think? Ctrl+Alt+Dlt doesn't seem to be doing anything and I'd not heard of it on a phone before. Restarting doesn't do anything. Taking the sim out doesn't do anything. There's no cancel option.

 

I'm close to phoning my provider EE, but from experience their tech help department are worse than useless and I don't hold out much hope for help. Does anyone know whether this could still be considered normal? I read somewhere that it "can" take "up to a day". I know the Q10 is slow - it takes about quarter of an hour to turn on - but I'm worried the security swipe's simply never going to stop?