Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EE UK
Accepted Solution

BlackBerry Symbol Missing from Q10

Hello all. I have recently upgraded to a Q10. My carrier is EE in the UK (2G, 3G and 4G). The BlackBerry symbol keeps disappearing from my Q10. When this happens BBM stops working. I have called EE five times. Each time they refresh the settings on their network. I reboot the Q10 and all is well for a few hours. The BlackBerry symbol then disapperars again and BBM does not work anymore. EE now tells me this is a problem with BlackBerry's network and EE cannot help. Personally I do not think anybody EE understand the problem. Does anybody have any suggestions please? Many thanks.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,476
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BlackBerry Symbol Missing from Q10

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

With a strong carrier network signal (e.g., not merely WiFi), I suggest the following steps, in order, even if they seem redundant to what you have already tried (step 1 should result in a message coming to your BB...please wait for that before proceeding to the next step):

1) Register HRT

  • KB00510 How to register a BlackBerry smartphone with the wireless network
  • Please wait for one "registration" message to arrive

2) Reboot

  • Pre-BB10 Devices ONLY. With power ON, remove the back cover and pull out the battery. Wait about a minute then replace the battery and cover. Power up and wait patiently through the long reboot -- ~5 minutes.
  • BB10 Devices. Hold the top button down until the counter reaches zero. Wait for the device to be fully shut down (e.g., nothing at all displayed on the screen, no LED lights, etc.). Hold the top button until the red LED is lit. Wait through the full boot-up process. IF this fails, you can attempt the battery-pull method above, but it is normally NOT recommended unless nothing else works.
  • See if things have returned to good operation. Like all computing devices, BB's suffer from memory leaks and such...with a hard reboot being the best cure.

Hopefully that will get things going again for you! If not, then you escalate with your mobile service provider...they have access to a channel to escalate formally to BlackBerry if they cannot resolve your issues. Consider...you pay EE for 100% of your services, which makes them responsible for 100% of your formal support, regardless of if the issue is at BB or at EE.

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-11-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: EE UK

Re: BlackBerry Symbol Missing from Q10

Many thanks for your help. Very much appreciated.

I tried step 1 before I posted my message. No registration message came back to the handset.

I called EE for the sixth time and received yet another version. This time they changed something at their end, told me to pull the battery while the Q10 was still on, remove the SIM card, put it all back together again and reboot.

I did what they said and it seems to be working fine almost 24 hours later, which is progress. Personally I think all the messing about was unnecessary and they simply did things properly at their end this time.

Thank you once again.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,476
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: BlackBerry Symbol Missing from Q10

I'm glad that your carrier finally figured out their issues and restored your services to proper functionality.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................