Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Q10

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎08-25-2013
My Device: Q10 and 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobil
Accepted Solution

Q10 WIFI - Browser Error - Couldn't Resolve the Host Name

Hello,

 

I am using my Q10 while overseas for Wifi only. My SIM is in my 9900 (thanks BB from not telling anyone that BIS no longer works and WW BB Roaming does not exist till after people buy OS 10 devices, anyway...) but I want to use the Q10 for Skype, Browsing and even Email while on WIFI.

 

Skype works.

 

Browser gives "Couldn't Resolve the Host Name" and emails are not loading.

 

Wifi network is good (the 9900 is connected and works, as do other devices). I have reset the phone, router, etc. etc.

 

All to no avail.

 

A two hour phone conversation with T-Mobile (from overseas) was useless and disconnected.

 

All the DNS data seems to be there.

 

Please assist.

 

Thanks,

 

Aviv

Developer
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎06-16-2013
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Q10 WIFI - Browser Error - Couldn't Resolve the Host Name

on your Z10, once the WIFI is connected, go to settings, Network connection / Wifi
Tap 'Advanced' and pick 'Internet Connection' in the 'Diagnostic Information' list.
Then look for the IP of the Primary and Secondary DNS ...

The DNS server are the one responsible for translating host name into IP addresses
if you see something like "couldn't resolve the host name" this mean that or the DNS settings are wrong on the router, or your MAC is blocked .. or your are entering a wrong URL in the browser
--

If my post has helped you, give it a LIKE Smiley Wink
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎08-25-2013
My Device: Q10 and 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobil

Re: Q10 WIFI - Browser Error - Couldn't Resolve the Host Name

IP Address

192.168.80.5

Subnet Mask

255.255.255.248

Default Gateway

192.168.80.1

Primary DNS

195.186.1.11

Secondary DNS

212.147.10.10

 

The router is working with iPhones, my 9900, my laptop with no problem.

 

URL is www.google.com

 

Remember please that SKYPE works.

 

Thanks,

 

Aviv

Super Contributor
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎07-01-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Q10 WIFI - Browser Error - Couldn't Resolve the Host Name

To clarify... where are you?  Switzerland?  I know in China certain IP addresses are blocked by the Great Firewall.

Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎08-25-2013
My Device: Q10 and 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobil

Re: Q10 WIFI - Browser Error - Couldn't Resolve the Host Name

Yes.I'm in Switzerland at the moment and like I said, Wifi works well on all other devices.

 

Thanks,

 

Aviv

Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎08-25-2013
My Device: Q10 and 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobil

Re: Q10 WIFI - Browser Error - Couldn't Resolve the Host Name

Hi,

 

Problem solved.

 

I had reset the router before, to no avail. The only way I got it work is as follows:

 

1) Power Off the router and wait for the phone to 'not see' to network in question.

2) Turn off Wifi on the phone (pull down setting and press on wifi)

3) Restart router

4) Restart phone

 

After about 10 minutes, it finally connected.

 

Thanks to all,

 

I wish BB would have simply kept the functionality of the 9900 and just made it more attractive to the masses, instead of making an iphone with a keyboard....