Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Web Services


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
My Device: 8300
My Carrier: null

Lock Device via API

Hi all,

 

What is the correct way to call in the Web service API to lock a device?

 

Which calls should be used?

 

thanks in advance.

 

Regards,

Smiety

Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Lock Device via API

Hi Smiety,

 

Currently this can be done from BWS or BAA by using the setDevice(s)Password() API. This call requires that the device password be changed but also locks the target device(s) after the action is complete.

 

Regards,

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Regular Contributor
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎11-30-2012
My Device: curve
My Carrier: airtel

Re: Lock Device via API

Can we lock/wipe a BB10 device, programatically?
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Lock Device via API

Are you asking from an enterprise or device-side perspective?

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎11-30-2012
My Device: curve
My Carrier: airtel

Re: Lock Device via API

From Device side in BB10.
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Lock Device via API

I'd suggest posting in one of the device-side boards based on the platform you are using (WebWorks, Native, Cascades etc). This board is targeted for developing for the BlackBerry Enterprise Server.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!