Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry Web Services


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
My Device: None
My Carrier: None
Accepted Solution

Push Service SDK, add application

Hello

I am using the High-level Sample Push initiator and I would like to add an application.

I will use the Enterprise Push. In the guide it says that I dont need to register for the push server when using enterprise. But when I want to add an application I have to enter an application id. Where do I get that Id from?

Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Push Service SDK, add application

Did you install the SDK for BIS or BES configuration? On the BES you would either create your own app ID, use the "Application package identifier" listed in the BAS console, or use the port if using legacy push (to also support old apps pre OS 10).

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Re: Push Service SDK, add application

I installed the highlevel sample with tomcat. All i want to do is to notify my webworks clients when there are new data on the server. I guess my backend most call the tomcat push server somehow to send the push messages
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Push Service SDK, add application

I need to know whether you chose BIS or BES when the SDK was installed, I don't believe BES would ask for app ID, so you may need to re-install.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Re: Push Service SDK, add application

I have just reinstalled and i selected BES only and after that I select Enterprise Push as the type of push application. Still I need to provide an application name, version, push listen port, max daily quota, id, description, service level, expiry date and added by.

I also do not know what username to provide 

Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Re: Push Service SDK, add application

Maybe the id I need to use is the one from the config.xml (the config file for my app, in this case the Push Capture example)

Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Re: Push Service SDK, add application

and the push listen port is 8443 i guess (sorry I am not used to this server setup)

Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Push Service SDK, add application


wtdnielsen wrote:

I have just reinstalled and i selected BES only and after that I select Enterprise Push as the type of push application. Still I need to provide an application name, version, push listen port, max daily quota, id, description, service level, expiry date and added by.

I also do not know what username to provide 


Which version of the SDK are you installing? I just tested with 1.2.0.25 and the only real configuration for Push I am prompted with is the URL of the PPG (BES URL that handles the Push).

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-19-2013
My Device: None
My Carrier: None

Re: Push Service SDK, add application

I downloaded the sdk from this page:

https://developer.blackberry.com/bbos/java/documentation/installing_the_sdk.html#jza1355764941890

 

I click on the Windows installer

After installing tomcat i go to localehost:8080/high-level-sample

Then I have to choose push type and add application informations

Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Push Service SDK, add application

Ah ok. Well for BES you would create most of those values yourself. There is no quota etc for BES, so these should be ignored by the system but you may want to set them to some upper limit just to be safe.

 

A username and password is only required on the BES if authentication has been enabled by your BES Admin.

 

I posted above a few options for your app ID, but it needs to be the same iD used on the client side.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!