Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Highlighted
Developer
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: BleskMobil

BB World Question: Why there is so many vendors in BB world that have hundreds and thousands apps?

Hello, 

I'm skilled Android developer and I'm new to BB World. I found very interesting unusualness on this store. And it is that there is a lot of vendors that have hundreds or even thousands apps in BB World. 

I'm curious why they do this? I never met on Play Store such a thing. On Play Store it is quite common that there is a few apps per vendor and they are of high quality. 

On BB World it is very common to make apps like 

- Lock For Zello, Lock for Facebook, Lock for Opera Mini, Lock for ....

- City guide for Znojmo, City guide for Chrudim (which are quite small cities and it even does not make sense to have city guide for them)

I also read in https://developer.blackberry.com/whyblackberry/mmmooo/ that MMMOOO has 300 hundreds apps (which is quite a lot comparing to Android), they have 150 000 downloads a day (which is huuuuge comparing to android) and 500 paid apps sold per day (which is quite low comparing to downloads and number of apps per vendor). 

So my questions are:

- why vendors provide so much apps? Is is because of some section like New apps when it is beneficial to be there every day?

- why vendors provide app called Lock for Opera Mini, Lock for Documents, Lock for ... or City guide for ... (every small town on the earth) instead of one generic app that locks any app or guides in some area? It is because users are used to buy single purpose app instead of universal one?

- is huge number of downloads compared to low sales caused by the fact that supply of apps is thin and they need to download a lot of apps to find the right one?