Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Highlighted
New Contributor
My Device: Blackberry Curve 9330
My Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Getting Started

Hi,

I am extremely new to BlackBerry platform, so I have a few questions:

• What's the age limit of creating an app and putting it on the App World?
  • What doe it cost? (I read on one site it was $200, and I also read on another that it was free)
  • What is required to put an app on App World? I don't have PayPal, so I wonder if it's required.
  • What is the approval process like on App World? (Apple's approval process erks me)

If anybody could answer this that'd be great! 

Developer
My Device: HTC One, PlayBook, LE Z10, DE Q10
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Getting Started

There is no age limit, but there is a minimum age that allows someone to enter a contract. Typically 18 yo. You can have a parent enter into that contract for you if you are less than that.

No cost.

Paypal to get paid. Not certain if it is required if you apps are free. Someone else might be able to answer that. Parents can setup an account.

Approval process is not the greatest as compared to other markets. "Typically" it is 7-10 days for new apps, 1-2 days for updates.
Developer
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: WiFi

jtegen wrote:

Paypal to get paid. Not certain if it is required if you apps are free. Someone else might be able to answer that. Parents can setup an account.

Correct, PayPal is required only for paid apps.

"When you become a level 3 developer, you learn to communicate over the ether. I'm told that level 5 developers are ascend into a higher level of existence beyond the physical realm." gord888 @ crackberry
New Contributor

Hi,