Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
My Device: PlayBook Developer
My Carrier: AT&T

How to quickly revert a name change to the file bundle before everyone deletes my app?

Users of my initial release cannot upgrade since I changed the name of the file bundle between releases by mistake. They see only a "Delete" option in App World when they respond to the update notification. I'm guessing that's bad.

 

I could change the name back, but the people that downloaded the second release would have to Delete when they get the update notification.

 

Since I have about 20x more users in the first group, I guess I will make the new ones mad. But I'm not touching anything until I'm sure I don't make things worse.

 

Time is ticking away since I sent a plea for help to Vendor Support. Meanwhile more and more of them are finally getting around to updating, frowning, and deleting my app forever.

 

Advice?

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2013
My Device: PlayBook Developer
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: How to quickly revert a name change to the file bundle before everyone deletes my app?

I am leaving it alone. It is ugly to Delete and Download again, but at least there is an upgrade path.

I am not sure it is the file bundle name change that did it. Would be good to know. I had added the version number to the file bundle name to make life easier for reviewers. Thought it would be repackaged to a canonical name and format by RIM a la Apple.