Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Reply
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-03-2013
My Device: BB10 Alpha device, Storm
My Carrier: o2
Accepted Solution

Just one exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 and Alpha device with Native SDK 10.1.0.338 neccessary?

Hello,

 

here is a probably simple question but an answer would help me a lot.

 

I build an application against the newest version of the Native SDK (10.1.0.338) - the beta version for the Q devices.

Then I tested it with the SDK on Alpha Device, Z10 (both 768x1280) and also Q10 (720x720) and it works fine.

 

Afterwards I produced a bar-file with export for BB world. Is my assumption correct that I need just one bar-file for all devices (Q10, Z10, Alpha device)?

 

Many thanks in advance for your help and best regards

Andreas

Developer
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: Just one exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 and Alpha device with Native SDK 10.1.0.338 neccessary?

You can do it with only 1 bar file indeed.


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
New Developer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-03-2013
My Device: BB10 Alpha device, Storm
My Carrier: o2

Re: Just one exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 and Alpha device with Native SDK 10.1.0.338 neccessary?

Great :-) ... thanks a lot!

 

And when It is uploaded to app world, can e.g. a normal Z10 using 10.0.x also can use the app without any problem even so it is made by 10.1.x?

Developer
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: Just one exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 and Alpha device with Native SDK 10.1.0.338 neccessary?

If I am not mistaken, you have to give the OS for which it was intended. And as far as I know 10.1.x is not added to the options yet. But it has been some time since I submitted a release, so could be that it is already added in the meantime.


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
New Developer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-03-2013
My Device: BB10 Alpha device, Storm
My Carrier: o2

Re: Just one exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 and Alpha device with Native SDK 10.1.0.338 neccessary?

thanks again for your reply :-)

 

When I submitted my release also min. OS 10.0 was the highest possible choise.

 

The SDK is asking me if I try to test it on my alpha device to confirm to continue as the installed OS is just 10.0.x. After confirmation it is ported to the device and it works fine.

 

But what is with App World?  Can I release it and is a current Z10 user able to use it already?

Developer
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: Just one exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 and Alpha device with Native SDK 10.1.0.338 neccessary?

Normally any Z10 user should be able to use it.
As that would be weird otherwise, because no apps are specified to 10.1.x, so no apps would be able to be downloaded.


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter
New Developer
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-03-2013
My Device: BB10 Alpha device, Storm
My Carrier: o2

Re: Just one exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 and Alpha device with Native SDK 10.1.0.338 neccessary?

Thanks again for your fast reply!

 

So it should be fine to build an app on Native SDK 10.1.0.338 and send the app for review to app world with "Min. OS 10.0"?

 

(Of course, testing it before on Q10, Z10 simulator and Aplpha device.)

Developer
Posts: 648
Registered: ‎09-26-2012
My Device: Limited Edition Z10, Playbook 16GB/32GB, Dev Alpha A/B/C
My Carrier: Mobile Vikings

Re: Just one exported bar-file for Q10, Z10 and Alpha device with Native SDK 10.1.0.338 neccessary?

That is the way I am doing it now, so as far as I know, this should be sufficient.


A like is always appreciated,
but a nomination for BB Elite even more :-)
You can also contact me on Twitter: @ndsmyter