Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2013
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Airtel

Vendor Name Change

I want to change the name of my vendor...What is the process to do rename?

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: 0

Re: Vendor Name Change

what do you mean? you want to leave your current phone company? or you mean at start up when the name of the company comes up?
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-13-2013
My Device: Developer
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Vendor Name Change

I did not get you..I am the only administrator of my vendor..

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎04-16-2013
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: 0

Re: Vendor Name Change

i dont understand, sorry.
what exactly are you trying to change?
Developer
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: Vendor Name Change

Log in, click on "Manage Account Details" and change your details.

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Developer
Posts: 173
Registered: ‎12-10-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C
My Carrier: -

Re: Vendor Name Change

If we change our vendor name, does it affect our signing keys at all? I assume it doesn't, but just want to doublecheck, as our keys are assigned to our original vendor name.

 

I've been meaning to change my vendor name, but have been waiting for all portathon stuff to be paid out first, in case it just added to payout confusion (wouldn't think it should, but you never know).

Developer
Posts: 889
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Vendor Name Change

To the best of my knowledge their is no relationship between your BlackBerry World profile, and your signing keys. Just continue on using the same keys taht you already have.


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com
Developer
Posts: 817
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Z10, Q10, 9900, 9790, PlayBook,
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK, Three, O2, Orange, Sunrise, Swisscom

Re: Vendor Name Change

And if you really want to, it's really easy to change your keys. Just bear in mind that you won't be able to upgrade any apps with your new keys. They will have to be new apps.

--
Olivier - interfaSys ltd
Developing for BlackBerry 10 devices using the Sencha Touch framework.
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
My Device: BlackBerry 10 - Z10 LE
My Carrier: Optus

Re: Vendor Name Change

Yes, you might be able to get a new key.  I forgot my key password before and tried to request for another key, they never send me a new one. Lucky I found the password and continue to use the old key.

Developer
Posts: 889
Registered: ‎08-31-2009
My Device: 9530, 9630, 9800, 8530, 9900, 9810, 9930, PlayBook, Dev Alpha
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Vendor Name Change

Yes, you can change your keys, but I would highly advice against it. It will cause only problems, and change nothing that the consumer actually sees...


Read my thoughts on BlackBerry Development at news.ebscer.com