Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® World™ Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: BleskMobil

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

It checks during app startup. In case you didn't see this message during app startup then the issue is specific to my device.

 

Regarding error messages: you are absolutely right. I'll change it in next release but right now it helps me to debug the issue.

 

IMG_00000076.png

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- My Blackberry 10 app at http://blackberry.hubalek.net
-- My Android apps at http://android.hubalek.net
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

I now get the error message every time I launch the app. Are you making multiple payment calls at once?

 

You may want to keep your app in DRAFT state for testing, users (even if just devs for now) may provide negative feedback for the error messages:

http://devblog.blackberry.com/2013/01/blackberry-payment-services-sandbox/

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Developer
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: BleskMobil

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

Bad news. It was working from November I even got one 5 stars review :-(

 

How to move app into Draft mode? By clicking on Remove from Sale? 

 

How long time it will take to test it? It seems that I have no chance to reach Dev Alpha C with this as this issue will most likely be copied into all other apps :-(

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- My Blackberry 10 app at http://blackberry.hubalek.net
-- My Android apps at http://android.hubalek.net
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

Yes, "Remove from sale" will remove it from public visibility. You don't *have* to do this, just a recommendation.

 

I just tested locally though and read the full message, it doesn't appear to be an actual error, just a message stating that there are no previous purchases in cache... It makes sense this would start after an OS upgrade as the BlackBerry World cache would have been cleared.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Developer
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: BleskMobil

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

Thanks for info.

 

It looks like after upgrading appworld some assumptions built into application broke application logic. I wish it happend earlier :-(

 

I'll use  sandbox mode and I wish I had it on November :-( 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- My Blackberry 10 app at http://blackberry.hubalek.net
-- My Android apps at http://android.hubalek.net
Developer
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: BleskMobil

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

BTW: Why there is sent reply->isError() in case that it is not real error (as you said)?

Why it appears always? I would expecte that it should display only once before cache is filed...

I make assumption that in case that isError() returns true then it is some serious issue user should be informed about this.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- My Blackberry 10 app at http://blackberry.hubalek.net
-- My Android apps at http://android.hubalek.net
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

The error response looks to be a bug which I will file shortly. The cache only gets filled when a purchase is made, if no purchase then the cache remains empty.

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Developer
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: BleskMobil

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

OK, so what should I do now?

I'm seriously considering to get rid of IAP and create model with FREE + PAID versions as this looks very hard to debug :-( It looks like IAP is hard to implement not only on Android :-(

One more question: Is IAP intended to upgrade apps from free/lite version to premium version or I did mistake to use it for this purpose?

In case it can be used for this purpose: When app should check whether user upgraded?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- My Blackberry 10 app at http://blackberry.hubalek.net
-- My Android apps at http://android.hubalek.net
Retired
Posts: 2,559
Registered: ‎10-16-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

Simple solution, if you get an error returned when checking the local cache or '0' elements in the returned list then check again forcing the server refresh.

 

IAP is much easier to test now that sandbox mode is enabled, but I agree that this bug is less than ideal.

 

I would definitely recommend using IAP to upgrade a free app to paid or premium rather than releasing a free and paid version. 

Garett
@garettBeuk
--
Goodbye everybody!
Developer
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎10-01-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook 32 GB
My Carrier: BleskMobil

Re: What "There is no getExistingPurchases Local Cache" error while verifying In App Purchases

Simple solution, if you get an error returned when checking the local cache or '0' elements in the returned list then check again forcing the server refresh.

 

is workaround for how long time? Is there chance that you will fix this bug earlier than my app will be reviewed and approved (what takes few weeks right now)?

 

You know: I can understand that there are bugs in anybody's SW. It happens. What makes me sad is that my apps are broken and it will take weeks to fix them because of slow review process :-(

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- My Blackberry 10 app at http://blackberry.hubalek.net
-- My Android apps at http://android.hubalek.net