Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: T Mobile

After wipe my blackberry z10 has software problems please can someone help?

I got a secondhand z10 today and decided to do a security wipe and now the phone wont work.  It says unable to connect to update server after sofware update.  ??  I don't know what to do please help

Posts: 94,670
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: After wipe my blackberry z10 has software problems please can someone help?

Have you set the device up initially, with the BlackBerryID logged in?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: T Mobile

Re: After wipe my blackberry z10 has software problems please can someone help?

Yes I have blackberry link

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: T Mobile

Re: After wipe my blackberry z10 has software problems please can someone help?

It says I have to connect to wifi network as software to big to download and then when I connect  it says checking for updates and then says unable to connect to the update server.

 

 

Help lol

Posts: 94,670
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: After wipe my blackberry z10 has software problems please can someone help?

Is there anyway you could connect to a different WiFi router?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: T Mobile

Re: After wipe my blackberry z10 has software problems please can someone help?

Trying now

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: T Mobile

Re: After wipe my blackberry z10 has software problems please can someone help?

Ah is doing something now it says it will continue once battery reaches 20%

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,391
Registered: ‎02-28-2009
My Device: Torch, Bold, Play Book, and Bluetooth HS-700
My Carrier: BELL

Re: After wipe my blackberry z10 has software problems please can someone help?

With a used phone, I would re-install the compete OS to be safe. I would then do the Blackberry ID registration to get it going.


To do the major updates and installs for most smart phones and tablets, they only allow these to be done over WiFi. This is because the download is considered very large for most data plans. Also if there is a disturbance in the mobile service the download can become corrupted and cause serious problems with the phone's operating firmware devices. The download for the Blackberry OS alone is about 350 mb if I remember right. The utilities and other data can be another 200 mb.

 

Doing operating system (OS) installs over a USB cable is not considered safe for the phone, because with many computers the USB port can time out, or if the PC link gets disturbed. This could cause non recoverable damage to the operating firmware devices in the phone or tablet. This is why there are very strong warnings to not disturb the device while the software is being installed.

 

To backup and restore your phone you require internet service to begin with. Add a router to your computer network that has WiFi networking, and you will be able to update and maintain your phone, and or tablet. The other alternative is to go to a place that has public WiFi. Using public WiFi is not considered to be considered highly secure.

 

 

 

 

Jerry G.
Posts: 94,670
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: After wipe my blackberry z10 has software problems please can someone help?


deborah1978 wrote:

Ah is doing something now it says it will continue once battery reaches 20%


Great!, did it complete now?

 

Just a tip, anytime you commence an upgrade or such, make sure you are connected to the charger. Losing power during an upgrade can certainly brick your device.

 

And there is nothing wrong with performing an upgrade over USB connected to the PC via the BlackBerry Link software. I've done it four or five times now on my Z10. BlackBerry provided that method of updates for a reason and wouldn't have done were it not a feasible option.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code