Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: o2

BB Z10 Device Password

Hi I have just added a Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync account to my Z10. Since then, the device requires a password to unlock. Under Settings/Security and Privacy/Device Password, it states "IT policy requires device password to be set.", and the on/off toggle is greyed out.

 

I want to turn off the device password.

 

any ideas????

Posts: 94,679
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Z10 Device Password

The IT Policy of the BES Admin pushed to the device when connected requires a password.

Who runs the BES, your employer?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: o2

Re: BB Z10 Device Password

Hi ........... yes its a work email account server

Guru III
Posts: 32,127
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BB Z10 Device Password

there is no way you can bypass the IT policy or setting imposed by Active Sync

 

Only the admin of the mail server or BES server has control over those which is usually dictated by company security policy

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-29-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: o2

Re: BB Z10 Device Password

**bleep** and blast !! ok thanks for the help........... i'll have to speak to admin

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-11-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Re: BB Z10 Device Password

Similarly, my z10 syncs using ActiveSync and has no policy requiring passwords on the z10. There is no balance account.

 

The phone continues to require a device password and will not allow it to be disabled.

 

HELP!!!!

Posts: 94,679
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Z10 Device Password

You're not on an employer BES10 account?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-11-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: Verizon Wireless

Re: BB Z10 Device Password

No - I am not on the BES 10 account - the phone is only picking up the mail using ActiveSync. This was confirmed when the organization had a problem with the BES server - all email traffic through the BES server was stopped - but the Z10 (not on the BES server ) continued to get email from Exchange using ActiveSync.

 

The problem is that all the Z10s are being forced to use data encryption AND the device password. (5 so far)

Guru III
Posts: 32,127
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: BB Z10 Device Password

I would look at the logs

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB34552

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V