Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Highlighted
New Contributor
My Device: BB Torch, BB Playbook
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: New Blackberry 10 Sync to Outlook

Hi Ty and Blackberry,

I am following this topic closely.  I have a Blackberry Torch 9800 that I had for years and love it.  I use Outlook for work and personal use and the fact it syncs with my phone is a real plus.  Because I work in law enforcement, wireless or cloud syncing is not an option.  So the fact that I have to connect my phone to my computer by USB to sync is not a chore.  I recently purchased a Playbook and I love it.  The fact that I can sync through Bluetooth between my phone and the Playbook through the Bridge software is great and the email and text keyboard is outstanding.  Better that Apple iphone or Samsung. 

I was looking forward to getting the new Z10 to replace the Torch but without an option to sync to Outlook on my computer, I can't justify the move and I am now looking at either upgrading to a new Torch or going Windows or iphone. 

Is there any chance Blackberry will keep the desktop software, direct sync options?  I know this is not keeping with the new "everything in the cloud" way of thinking but the reason I did not buy an ipad is that I feel their is a difference between entertainment devices and tablets and ones for business and productivity.  If I want to watch a or play a game I'll buy an ipad.  But I need a device that will keep me on-track with my busy schedule.  I like the fact that when a call comes through my phone and I'm looking at my Playbook it tells me who is calling.  If someone came up with a device that would let me answer the phone and talk or video chat over one device then that's the one I'll get.  The Samsung Galaxy Note comes close to being the perfect device but alas, no Outlook sync.