Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10 STL-100
My Carrier: Airtel Tanzania

PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE

Please please help me on this, i have been trying to send my work emails in my Zed but i get this reply "protocol layer was unable to Send your message "...its been months, i have no problem with my Yahoo email or gmail...YES i did upgrade to os 10.1 but i get the same same error, its frustrating i miss my Bold 9900 badlyyyyyyy
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-29-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-mobile

Re: PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE

Same issue here. I started a thread which is now in Business Support: http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Enterprise-Solution/Still-experiencing-quot-networ...

 

Not much info yet, though.

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: rogers

Re: PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE

[ Edited ]

I assume you are using Exchange/activesync?  If so, the upload buffer is too small in IIS (it's set to about 50 kb by default) - this setting is independant of the attachment size setting in Exchange.

 

On your CAS (I'm running IIS 7 so I'll give you the command for that)

 

On the CAS with IIS 7 go to c:\windows\system32\inetsrv & run

appcmd.exe set config "Default Web Site" -section:system.webServer/serverRuntime /uploadReadAheadSize:"10485760" /commit:apphost

where 10485760 is the max byte  size of buffer (so = to a 10 meg message limit or whatever you want) & "Default Web Site" is the IIS website your CAS is running on.

 

do an IISRESET

 

Try sending again.

 

read here to fix on iis 6 http://blogs.msdn.com/b/jiruss/archive/2007/04/13/http-413-request-entity-too-large-can-t-upload-lar...

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10 STL-100
My Carrier: Airtel Tanzania

Re: PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE

Totally do not understand,
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-15-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Telstra

Re: PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE

I had the same problem with my Q10 and I solved it by changing the outgoing SMTP server to my mobile phone provider's smtp address (eg. "mail.bigpond.com" for anyone on Telstra in Australia)

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎05-29-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: T-mobile

Re: PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE


Fillerguy wrote:

I assume you are using Exchange/activesync?  If so, the upload buffer is too small in IIS (it's set to about 50 kb by default) - this setting is independant of the attachment size setting in Exchange.

 

On your CAS (I'm running IIS 7 so I'll give you the command for that)

 

On the CAS with IIS 7 go to c:\windows\system32\inetsrv & run

appcmd.exe set config "Default Web Site" -section:system.webServer/serverRuntime /uploadReadAheadSize:"10485760" /commit:apphost

where 10485760 is the max byte  size of buffer (so = to a 10 meg message limit or whatever you want) & "Default Web Site" is the IIS website your CAS is running on.

 

do an IISRESET

 

Try sending again.

 

read here to fix on iis 6 http://blogs.msdn.com/b/jiruss/archive/2007/04/13/http-413-request-entity-too-large-can-t-upload-lar...


Most of the people I know with issues are experiencing it with messages that have no attachments. Does this apply?

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10 STL-100
My Carrier: Airtel Tanzania

Re: PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE

With or without attachments same problem...
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-15-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Telstra

Re: PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE

it has been working for me, reply messages sent with no problem both with and without attachment...
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-02-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10 STL-100
My Carrier: Airtel Tanzania

Re: PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE

What did you do..tel me what to do
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-15-2013
My Device: Q10
My Carrier: Telstra

Re: PROTOCOL LAYER WAS UNABLE TO SEND YOUR MESSAGE

as per my earlier post... all I did was change the outgoing smtp server and used my mobile phone provider's smtp address instead.