Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Telus

RAM

How do I increase the ram on my Z10?

Super Contributor
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
My Device: Priv, Passport, iPhone 6s
My Carrier: Telus

Re: RAM

You cannot.  The RAM is built into your device.  Even assuming you could do so, you would void your warranty.  Even then, the OS would not be able to recognize it.

 

Why the question?  Are you having some kind of issue?  If so, please let us know your device model and OS version, plus carrier.  There may be a more likely solution for you.

Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-11-2010
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: RAM

Actually I meant what can I do within the phone to boost the ram. Turn things off, apps running in the background, etc.

Posts: 94,525
Likes: 24,405
Solutions: 6,350
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: RAM


Mike74 wrote:

. Turn things off, apps running in the background, etc.


Do that.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Super Contributor
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
My Device: Priv, Passport, iPhone 6s
My Carrier: Telus

Re: RAM


Mike74 wrote:

Actually I meant what can I do within the phone to boost the ram. Turn things off, apps running in the background, etc.


And be particularly aware of apps from BB World that are Android ports. Many are fine, but some appear to be closed, but are still running in the background and using resources.  I've found this to be helpful with the Android ports: http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/23203885/?countrycode=CA

 

Highlighted
Posts: 94,525
Likes: 24,405
Solutions: 6,350
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: RAM

Good suggestion, and another similar app is:

 

Advanced App Manager by eDroid Apps

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code