Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

New Contributor
My Device: Blackberry z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Returned my Z10

I'm posting this for Blackberry's benefit.  I returned my Z10 today.  It is a wonderful phone and I didn't want to give it up. However, I am a business owner and rely on my phone as a key tool for managing my work, schedule, and clients.  I discovered several issues that prevented me from using the Z10.

First, whenever I connected the phone to my computer it would crash (ie. BSOD) the computer and force a reboot.  I subsequently found via Google that there are issues connecting the Z10 BB to a Windows 8 pro computer via USB. OK, so I would connect via WiFi.

I then found that I cannot sync my Outlook contacts and calendar with the BB.  I'm sorry, but these are essential business tools.  It is unforgivable that BB cannot sync with Office.  OK, I can purchase CompanionLink with DejaOffice.  These will let me sync but not so I can use voice dial while I'm driving (essential in Ontario).

Then, last night when I woke the phone to play with it, there was a prompt asking me for a password.  I had deliberately avoided turning on security so I was surprised at the prompt. What triggered the password prompt I had no idea. Since I had never activated password protection I had no idea what password was required but I couldn't access the phone without the password.  I tried every possible password combo I could think might be used without success.  After 10 unsuccessful attempts, it wiped my phone.

This morning, neededing a working phone with my contacts and calendar, I returned the Z10 to Rogers and re-activated my iPhone.