Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Roaming in border (frontier) cities

How can I manualy detach from my service provider (AT&T) signal when I cross to Mexico in border cities to pick up roaming?

I struggle a lot to break away from weak AT&T signal while in the Mexico side border and will have problems to make and receive phone calls.

 

The weak signal of my provider does not allow me to easily pick up roaming to maintain good phone service.

 

I recently travel to Mexico City and had no problem at all to break away from AT&T and stay connected with Mexico Service provider (Telcel) with roaming.

Forums Advisor II
Posts: 920
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Z10 10.2.1.3247
My Carrier: T-Mo USA

Re: Roaming in border (frontier) cities

Have you gone into your network settings and tried a manual search (not automatic)?

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Roaming in border (frontier) cities

I do not find a way to do manual search in Movil Netwok

Forums Advisor II
Posts: 920
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Z10 10.2.1.3247
My Carrier: T-Mo USA

Re: Roaming in border (frontier) cities

You should be able to go Settings > Network and Connections > Mobile Network. At the bottom change from automatic to manual and it should search for available networks.
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Roaming in border (frontier) cities

For some reason, my phone does not give me an option to do manual network search.

The last line in the screen is the name of the network I am connected to (AT%&T)  ten below the white screen is the Back < button and APN Icon, nothing else. 

Forums Advisor II
Posts: 920
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Z10 10.2.1.3247
My Carrier: T-Mo USA

Re: Roaming in border (frontier) cities

Sounds like at&t has removed that option.  You might have to call them.  Is your phone unlocked?

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Roaming in border (frontier) cities

No, my phone is not unlocked.

 

Do you have any idea where can I find this option, so I can go to AT&T and ask?

Forums Advisor II
Posts: 920
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
My Device: Z10 10.2.1.3247
My Carrier: T-Mo USA

Re: Roaming in border (frontier) cities

The option should be where I described in my second post. You say the last line lists at&t? What does it say just above that?
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-13-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Roaming in border (frontier) cities

The movil Network screen is as follows:

Movil Network On/Off button

Data Services On/Off Button

Data services while roaming title

Data services while roaming selection drop down window

dividor line

AT&T

 

Bottom of the screen in  the black section

Back Arrow and APN spoket icon