Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Stuck on "Checking for Updates"

I just bought a Z10 today and did the upate before using the phone and now it's stuck on "checking for updates" screen. I've taken out the battery and SIM card and left it for 10 min but it still isn't working, I've done this a few times. What am I supposed to do?

Developer
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎06-16-2013
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Stuck on "Checking for Updates"

How long does it stay on "checking for updates" screen?
--

If my post has helped you, give it a LIKE Smiley Wink
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 849
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: Stuck on "Checking for Updates"

Can you find another wifi?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Stuck on "Checking for Updates"

no i can't find wifi because i can't access any program on the phone

Developer
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎06-16-2013
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Stuck on "Checking for Updates"


GarretW wrote:

no i can't find wifi because i can't access any program on the phone


You can't access any program on the phone? Is this becuase the OS update search hasn't completed?

--

If my post has helped you, give it a LIKE Smiley Wink
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Stuck on "Checking for Updates"

I can't do anything because it's stuck on the "checking for updates" screen. All I can do is lock and unlock th screen.

Developer
Posts: 849
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
My Device: Z10

Re: Stuck on "Checking for Updates"

Hold down power button for 15 seconds.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Leader of Ljubljana BlackBerry Developer Group
BlackBerry Certified Builder for Native Application Development
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Stuck on "Checking for Updates"

do you mean the lock/unlock button because i did and It just brings up the option to shut off the phone which I tried

Developer
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎06-16-2013
My Device: Z10 LE
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Stuck on "Checking for Updates"

Did you try pulling out the battery, wating for a min, and putting in back in?

 

I faced a similar prblem and this worked for me.


GarretW wrote:

do you mean the lock/unlock button because i did and It just brings up the option to shut off the phone which I tried




--

If my post has helped you, give it a LIKE Smiley Wink
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎07-31-2013
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Stuck on "Checking for Updates"

I've done that about 5 times