Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Stuck "Checking for Software Updates" - Brand New Z10

I've just received my brand new Z10. Opened it, turned it on, and went through the startup screens. Signed up with a Blackberry account, on the office WiFi, and it said it wanted to do a software update.

 

3 hours later, it completed the software update download, installed the software update, and rebooted.

 

When it rebooted, it launched into a screen saying "checking for software updates". And sat there, spinning away. For hours.

 

I tried rebooting, I tried removing the battery, I tried inserting a working Telstra data-enabled SIM card and rebooting. No change.

 

It's now been 5 hours since receiving the device, and it's unusable. Am trying now - having downloaded Blackberry Link software for the Mac - to do a factory reset. But this has got to be the worst out-of-the-box experience for any handset. Ever.

 

Any advice appreciated,

 

Mark

 

Developer
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎06-12-2012
My Device: Dev Alpha C, Playbook
My Carrier: Loop

Re: Stuck "Checking for Software Updates" - Brand New Z10

Seems the device is unable to connect to the network and hence getting stuck there. Since you are trying it in your office, make sure no proxies are blocking it.
----------------------------------------------------------
feel free to press the like button on the right side to thank the user that helped you.
please mark posts as solved if you found a solution.
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: 447968851259

Re: Stuck "Checking for Software Updates" - Brand New Z10

As this is also happening to me, and I am at home with no Poxy server or anything, how do I get around it!! Reboots don't work, pulling the battery hasn't helped................

 

Regards..............

Guru III
Posts: 32,249
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Stuck "Checking for Software Updates" - Brand New Z10

try rebooting your wifi router, it happened to me at a hotel that would not let me update but once at home it worked.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Stuck "Checking for Software Updates" - Brand New Z10

Thanks, resolved after a factory rest using BBLink software.