Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-20-2014
My Device: Blackberry Z10 STL100-2 | Playbook
My Carrier: Free Mobile
Accepted Solution

Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

Hey guys!!!

 

Just got a new Z10 STL100-2 and have problem restoring from a STL100-1 backup.

 

OS version for the Z10:

  • the STL100-1 was a v10.2.1.2941;
  • the STL100-2 is currently a 10.2.1.2141.

 

Using the Switch Device tool in Blackberry Link (1.2.3.48), I get the message my device is not compatible and I have to update my device.

 

BB Link or OTA process say I currently run the latest version yet... huh Smiley Surprised

Update on STL100-1 was made on the same carrier about a month ago.

 

Any idea or suggestion to transfer my data to the new device?

 

Tx,

Nastro.

Guru II
Posts: 21,723
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

You can't restore a backup from a newer OS to an older OS. You will need to update the new device to the same or newer OS.

The reason you can't update is because BlackBerry pulled the 2941 update due to a battery charging problem when the battery gets depleted completely. I was told another update was supposed to be out next week but I can't say for sure.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎03-07-2014
My Device: Z10 STL100-2
My Carrier: Out

Re: Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

Hi,

You can use autoloader for just install OS 2941 to Your device and You'll can to recover it from backup

 

But I recommend You a little bit complicated but more right way:

 

1. Use autoloader to install OS 2941 to Your device

2. Restore Your backup

3. Use third-party apps to store Your critical data (like a contacts, media, passwords etc.). I suggest You Enpass for passwords and Fire Chest Backup for the rest, but it's Your deal what You want to use

4. Make factory reset to return to OS 2102

5. Restore Your critical data using those apps above mentioned.

 

I hope this will help You

Guru II
Posts: 21,723
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

An autoloader will work and there's no need for Enpass since Password Keeper has its own import/export feature. Fire Chest Backup is a good app for backing up text messages and other things that can't be sync'd to a cloud service. I recommend using a good email service that offers exchange active sync for contacts and calendar (outlook.com is currently the best). I use Evernote for Memos. The only thing I'd need fire chest for is sms messages.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-20-2014
My Device: Blackberry Z10 STL100-2 | Playbook
My Carrier: Free Mobile

Re: Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

Hey John,

 

Thanks for explanation. It's clear if Blackberry removed the update, the smartphone can't retrieve it. I hope for another release soon.

 

Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-20-2014
My Device: Blackberry Z10 STL100-2 | Playbook
My Carrier: Free Mobile

Re: Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

Hey Folks,

 

Thanks for your tips and backup apps.

 

About autoloader, there's a risk of brick as well as normal process... nevertheless  I wonder it warranty is canceled using that kind of softmod?

Moreover I suppose applying an autoloader don't change comportment of update system and it would work as usual with future releases (ie. system notification, OTA download and so on...). Could you confirm that?

Guru II
Posts: 21,723
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

Using an autoloader doesn't void warranty. Yes, you'll still be able to do an OTA update later. The only reason I don't like them is it wipes everything and I have to start over. An OTA (or Sachesi) is just easier. Just google autoloader 10.2.1.2941 Crackberry and you'll find the thread there that has all the downloads.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-20-2014
My Device: Blackberry Z10 STL100-2 | Playbook
My Carrier: Free Mobile

Re: Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

OK John, thanks for details.

So, just consider this thread as fixed if it works ;-).

I keep you in touch.

Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-20-2014
My Device: Blackberry Z10 STL100-2 | Playbook
My Carrier: Free Mobile

Re: Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

OK now I have a bit more time.

The end of the story

It works!!!

 

Just followed John's advice :

 

  • Installed 2941 via autoloader found on CB.
  • Full Restore possible
  • All Datas, Apps and Files were recovered but the contacts Cat Sad
  • Tried a partial restore for local applicatio / Calendat / Contats only

Contacts finally availlable

 

Thank you BB community!!!

 

Guru II
Posts: 21,723
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV; BlackBerry Z30, Z10 and Q10 w/OS 10.3.2.2639; PlayBook w/OS 2.1.0.1917
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Transfer a Z10 STL100-1 to Z10 STL100-2

If you would, mark the post that was the solution. That helps the next person searching the forums.

Thanks and glad you're fixed!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1. Please thank those who help you by clicking the "Like" button at the bottom of the post that helped you.
2. If your issue has been solved, please resolve it by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!