Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: O2

Wifi / internet access problems

Am using a Z10 to connect through to a BT Home Hub 2 (BT Infinity 2).  I can connect to the hub and see that my Z10 correctly picks up an IP address, subnet mask, default GW etc.

 

However, when I try to go to a website (eg google or wikipedia) after a long delay I get the message "The network is unavailable.  Please try again later".  I know the router is working fine as I can access the internet from an iPad over the same wifi connection.

 

If I try to go the router's console via 192.168.1.254 it sometimes loads but takes a very long time to do so (2 mins), other times only part of the page loads.

 

Wifi signal strength is strong and oddly I can access the internet just fine from a BB Torch.

 

I believe I am using the latest SW version on the Z10, 10.1.0.273.

 

Any ideas how I can get this to work...?

 

Graham

Retired
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Wifi / internet access problems

Hello gaclarke and welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

 

Sorry to hear you're having issues with your Wi-Fi connection.

 

What type of security is your router using? Are you searching for the network on your device or using the advanced set up to add it?

 

Have you tried to connect your device to another network? If so, are you getting the same error? 

 

Thanks!

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: O2

Re: Wifi / internet access problems

Thanks for the response.

 

The router is using WPA, the Z10 shows this as WPA Personal.

 

I'm letting the phone search for the network and apart from entering the password I'm not changing any of the default settings.

 

Yes, it has connected correctly to at least one other network, but my problem is that that isn't my home network!  :-)

 

Note however that I do have 3 iPads, a Sony SmartTV and a wifi enabled set top box connecting without issue with their default settings to my router.

 

So the problem seems to be related to the combination of router and phone, not just router or phone.

Guru III
Posts: 32,134
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Wifi / internet access problems

there have been a few issues with BT routers, do you know how old it is? i hear the newer ones dont have as much issue.

 

also Look at my tips on wifi

Speed-up-BlackBerry-Wi-Fi-connections-a-knottyrope-tip

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: O2

Re: Wifi / internet access problems

It's a BT HomeHub 2, about 2 years old.  I did check whether it was using the latest firmware - it appears to be up to date (plus there doesn't appear to be any options to flash it anyway).

 

SSID isn't hidden and is unique.  It is currently using channel 6 (but as stated, none of my other devices are having problems).

 

None of the other items highlighted in your tips seem relevant.

 

Thanks for the suggestions.

 

Graham

 

Retired
Posts: 3,246
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Wifi / internet access problems


gaclarke wrote:

Thanks for the response.

 

The router is using WPA, the Z10 shows this as WPA Personal.

 

I'm letting the phone search for the network and apart from entering the password I'm not changing any of the default settings.

 

Yes, it has connected correctly to at least one other network, but my problem is that that isn't my home network!  :-)

 


 

To clarify, you were able to successfully connect to another Wi-Fi network but are unable to connect to your home network? 

 

-HMthePirate

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: O2

Re: Wifi / internet access problems

I have succesfully connected to another network - that's how I downloaded the latest OS.

 

I can connect to my home network (I can see that it picks up an IP address, default GW etc), however if I then start the browser and go to say Google or Wikipedia it never downloads anything and then says that the network is unavailable.

 

 

Guru III
Posts: 32,134
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry PRIV, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Wifi / internet access problems

Try second post down.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-PlayBook/wif-problemsi/td-p/2178895/page/2

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-15-2013
My Device: Blackberry Z10
My Carrier: O2

Re: Wifi / internet access problems

OK, will try and will then report back, however, as of yesterday evening I'm 4,300 miles away from my router.  Will try next weekend. :-)

 

Graham

 

Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-17-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Wifi / internet access problems

I have a similar problem where I can ping out from the selected - and connected - wifi, but if I disable the data service then I'm not able to connect to the internet, but I can still ping on the WiFi.

 

My suspicion is that it doesnt really switch ti WiFi even when it shows connected. I just need a way to confirm this.