Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-04-2011
My Device: Torch 9800, Z10, PlayBook, PRIV
My Carrier: 3

Re: Z10 - Japanese Language Input & Display


funcan wrote:

After playing around for a few hours, it certainly doesn't support it natively, although it does allow simplified and traditional Chinese


A bit off topic (sorry OP), but can you clarify that this means the Z10 can display traditional and simplified characters? Sometimes my family likes to send me messages in Chinese and I didn't have the language display installed onto my Torch so I couldn't read it, but hoping this won't be an issue with the Z10

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-03-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Unlocked

Re: Z10 - Japanese Language Input & Display

Could we please have an official BlackBerry representative weigh in on this?

 

I simply cannot believe that a company focused on business would omit Japanese (and Korean) as a keyboard input language.  With the global nature of business today, there is obviously much more at stake here than just access to the Japanese smartphone market, which I understand BlackBerry has chosen not to enter.

 

Can we look forward to Japanese keyboards on BB10 smartphones later this year?

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone UK

Re: Z10 - Japanese Language Input & Display

[ Edited ]

michi30885: If you can write something in both, I will tell you if I can see it!

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-17-2013
My Device: 9900 , Z10 , Playbook
My Carrier: PCCW-HKG

Re: Z10 - Japanese Language Input & Display

oh no.....so at now I can totally sold out my Z10 and playbook and forget this company...... ="=!!
Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-04-2011
My Device: Torch 9800, Z10, PlayBook, PRIV
My Carrier: 3

Re: Z10 - Japanese Language Input & Display


funcan wrote:

michi30885: If you can write something in both, I will tell you if I can see it!


Hi funcan, thanks for the offer. Sorry I forgot to reply, I'll type up a message in a minute. Thanks!

Regular Contributor
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎02-04-2011
My Device: Torch 9800, Z10, PlayBook, PRIV
My Carrier: 3

Re: Z10 - Japanese Language Input & Display


funcan wrote:

michi30885: If you can write something in both, I will tell you if I can see it!


I can't read Chinese simplified so I've just put some text together in traditional:

 

看到這些詞組嗎?

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone UK

Re: Z10 - Japanese Language Input & Display

Yes, that's fine!

 

A screenprint:

 

Screenprint

 

http://postimg.org/image/hn1tfgslv/

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
My Device: Passport, Classic, Leap, Z30, Z10, Z3, Q10, Q5 (import)

Re: Z10 - Japanese Language Input & Display

Please try leaked OS 10.2.1.1055 (or 10.2.1.845). Sincerely,