Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-20-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: KPN

Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

Whenever I reboot my Z10, I have to manually change the network-type from "2G and 3G" to "2G, 3G and 4G"

Anyone out there knows how to solve this?

 

I'm running 10.1.0.4181 on my STL100-2 (provider KPN Netherlands)

Posts: 94,478
Likes: 24,389
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

Are those the only two settings for your network?

If there's a third, try changing it to the third choice, reboot and see if it reverts.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-20-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: KPN

Re: Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

No, there a more options:

- 4G en 3G

- 4G en 3G en 2G

- 3G en 2G

- 3G

- 2G

 

So I selected another option (4G en 3G) like you suggested, then rebooted and checked.

First it showed the selected option as "LTE/HSPA+/UMTS/GSM"

Then after 5-10 minutes I checked again and then it said "3G and 2G"

Repeated same test and selected 3G, but with same result: after reboot the option "3G en 2G" is active

All the time it was connected on 3G, as you can see in the pictures

Posts: 94,478
Likes: 24,389
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

Does KPN have a 4G or LTE network to work on?

 

Also, at Settings > About, what model of z10 do you have, the STL100-x number?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-20-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: KPN

Re: Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

Yes it does, and where it's available I am able to use it as well.....I'm using the STL100-2

Posts: 94,478
Likes: 24,389
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

Ok, understood. Good.

 

I don't know why that persists in resetting itself.

I might suggest trying a different SIM card? Perhaps the one you have is not provisioned correctly for 4G?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-20-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: KPN

Re: Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

OK, I could try the new SIM, but wouldn't you agree that SIM should be OK when I am able to use the 4G network?

Can you tell me if there's a planning available for an OS-update?

I can't remember having had this problem before I upgraded to 4181 and I hope it may be solved in a future release.

Posts: 94,478
Likes: 24,389
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

Look at your Settings > About.

Touch the Hardware dropdown.

 

  • What is the OS version?
  • scroll down, What is the Radio version?
>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-20-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: KPN

Re: Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

OS version 10.1.0.4181

Radio version  10.1.0.4634

Links to screenshots added just to make sure you get the correct info

Posts: 94,478
Likes: 24,389
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Z10 does not remember network-type after reboot

OK, that's good... the radio version should be one digit higher than the Software version, which yours is.

 

The only thing I can recommend is the upgrade to a higher OS release and see if that resolves the issue.

 

Here's the process I'd recommend, using the version 10.1.0.4687 OS

Upgrading OS10 devices using Autoloader

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code