Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

New Contributor
My Device: none yet
My Carrier: verizon

Z10 without Camera??

Does anybody know (wth some support evidence, i.e. without just speculating) if a Z10 will eventually be available without cameras?

Forums Advisor I
My Device: Blackberry Z10, Blackberry Playbook 64gb
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Z10 without Camera??

Thats a difficult question to answer, nobody knows what the future BB hardware would have a camera or not. But in todays world it is essential for business besides using it in the social media sites and also using your phone camera for QR codes, Scanning documents with your phone, its essential business tool.  Any reason why you don't want a camera on your phone?

New Contributor
My Device: none yet
My Carrier: verizon

Yes.  I work in the defense industry, in an environment where employees cannot bring camera phones (or other devices that can record audio or video) into the site.  I've seen other inquiries on the web from people who work in similarly restricted environments (military in Singapore, shipyards in Virginia, ...).  I'm not sure how what the total number of such users is, but I think it's a substantial number who are currenty using old 'brick' phones, or the Blackberry Curve.  Since Blackberry needs to do all it can to restore some of its market share, I would hope they recognize this opportunity.  At my site, I'm sure there are thousands of employees who would love to have a personal smart phone that they can take into work with them.

Forums Advisor III
My Device: Torch, Bold, Play Book, and Bluetooth HS-700
My Carrier: BELL