Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Posts: 95,104
Likes: 24,495
Solutions: 6,375
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: blackberry world stuck

[ Edited ]

sunrace wrote:
Z10 User..App World stuck and spinning wheel....RIM wants to "WIN" right?

Solution above.

 

Message 14

 

 



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: blackberry world stuck

Awesome...this fixed my Z10. How on earth did you discover this?
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-18-2013
My Device: Z10 STL100 - 2
My Carrier: Globe

Re: blackberry world stuck

But I haven't installed the BB music on my device,and now I can't install any app because I can't access the BB world.How can I fix it?

Posts: 95,104
Likes: 24,495
Solutions: 6,375
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: blackberry world stuck


keel999 wrote:

But I haven't installed the BB music on my device,and now I can't install any app because I can't access the BB world.How can I fix it?


It's not an app you install.

It is the normal Z10 icon for playing music.

 

In this image below, the icon at the lower left named "Music".

 

http://www.technobuffalo.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/BlackBerry-Z10-Apps-Screen.jpg



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-04-2009
My Device: Z10, Playbook 16GB

Re: blackberry world stuck

Excellent. Worked for me, and now suddenly 7 updates. Smiley Happy

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
My Device: z10
My Carrier: bell

Re: blackberry world stuck

That worked, thanks man!

 

You should work for RIM, instead of those incompetent developers

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: giffgaff

Re: blackberry world stuck

I just had the same issue so I turned wifi off and it now works
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-21-2013
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: giffgaff

Re: blackberry world stuck

Have just rebooted my router as couldn't get back on wifi network and now it works so must of been a wifi issue

Though it would be nice if the blackberry world app would say 'please connect to the Internet' and not just wait forever

Though Web pages were working but v slow before I disconnected from wifi network - and I connect and disconnect the wifi a couple of times before I could get back on
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: blackberry world stuck

I have the same issue. Two days now. Not able to delete this app and download again since it was preloaded by BB.

Not to mention that my phone freezes every other day. Great job RIM. So much for the enhanced OS....
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-18-2013
My Device: BlackBerry z10
My Carrier: globe

Re: blackberry world stuck

Do you mean you to opening the BB Music and just simply tap the three dots. And then, open Blackberry World? This thing doesn't seem to work.