Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

corrupt sms database after restore on Z10

Hello, i am brand new to this forum.  I have been using BB for many years and recently upgraded to the Z10.  My first phone was experiencing very poor battery life and running very hot (which i have seen posts on here as well) so my provider agreed to replace the phone.  Upon doing a device switch, my SMS data was somehow corrupetd, and i cannot delete several messages, not do those message display correctly (either incorrect contact or incorrect text body) as well if i recieve any new texts from those contacts with corrupt messages, when i open the new message i cannot view the latest text, i simply get the existing body reloaded.

So, my question finally, how can i wipe the entire sms database on my Z10 without affecting any other data on the phone?  I have no need to keep any of the messages in there, so a clean start is fine. 

I have tried to restore to the latest backup on Link, but cannot find the option to exclude the SMS DB from the restore.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Michael.

Contributor
My Device: BBZ10
My Carrier: Bell

Re: corrupt sms database after restore on Z10

Hi Michael,

I had the same problem yesterday and made a post detialing the issue. 

I'm going to try to do another backup, wipe and restore and hopefully the issue will be resolved. 

I CAN tell you that when i fist got my z10 the day it launched in Canada, I transferred all my data from the torch i was using, and the Z10 seemed to be processing the old text messages for about an hour or two once that transfer was complete. The processing of the messages ate up the battery pretty quickly and made the phone hot enough to fry an egg on, but once complete everything displayed fine.