Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-11-2014
My Device: z10
My Carrier: idea
Accepted Solution

not booting

[ Edited ]

my z10 is not booting it reaches 99% and then it does not move. i tried bblink ollso but it taking lot of time like 28% 4 h time.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,185
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: not booting

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

Something is very wrong, most likely with your OS itself -- corruption or something similar. If you've waited for a long time (e.g., measured in hours, not minutes) and the boot up never completes, then please first simply remove your battery and wait 15 minutes. Then insert the battery and allow it to attempt to boot up again.

 

If this fails, then you likely need to reload your OS. Given the conditions you describe, I believe only an AutoLoader has a chance of success for you:

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-11-2014
My Device: z10
My Carrier: idea

Problem solved z10 os

Hi

I download autoload and in 10 min my z10 was booked 100% and new os was installed. Now it working properly. Thanks BlackBerry team who helped to find proper post and link.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,185
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Problem solved z10 os

You are very welcome...I'm glad it worked for you. Cheers!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................