Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Z10


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
My Device: blackberry Z10
My Carrier: airtel congo
Accepted Solution

swipe up

how come I always have to press the power button before swipping up to ?

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎02-21-2012
My Device: Z10 and Playbook
My Carrier: Vodafone UK

Re: swipe up

Are you swiping up from the very bottom, or just randomly on the screen? You shouldn't have to wak the screen up before unlocking it.
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
My Device: blackberry Z10
My Carrier: airtel congo

Re: swipe up

from the bottom, tried with a friend's Z10 don't know why I have to wake the phone before unlocking it, still trying with pressing the power button, nothing happens
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎02-21-2012
My Device: Z10 and Playbook
My Carrier: Vodafone UK

Re: swipe up

Are there any other gesture issues that you have when swiping? Might be a bit of a defective screen perhaps. Is closing/minimizing apps ok?
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
My Device: blackberry Z10
My Carrier: airtel congo

Re: swipe up

It's the only issue I have
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎11-19-2010
My Device: Z10, Playbook

Re: swipe up

Keeping the screen alive for swipe gestures can be enabled or disabled (saves some power if disabled)

 

go to settings/display/Allow gestures when locked (on/off)

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎02-11-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: swipe up

After I plug my phone in to charge, when I swipe up it does not always work (nothing happens), I have to press the buttion on the top of the phone. It is intermittent because somethimes I can swipe up when the phone is plugged in, does this happen to anyone else.

tks

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
My Device: blackberry Z10
My Carrier: airtel congo

Re: swipe up

Thanks Taylor-tomt working fine now
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,432
Registered: ‎02-28-2009
My Device: Torch, Bold, Play Book, and Bluetooth HS-700
My Carrier: BELL

Re: swipe up

I noticed with the Z10, with some protection cases, if they use a plastic screen on top of the Z10 screen, the sensitivity of the touch screen is reduced especially at the edges. I had this issue with the Otter Box case.

 

Not using this case fixed the prlblem. I ended up getting a simple gell protector for the Z10. I have to be more careful with the phone.

Jerry G.