Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Downloaded Applications

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
My Device: z10
Accepted Solution

BB Z10 BBM error message

Hi

 

iv got this problem with BBM on  Z10 . when i connect to BBM i get the following error

 

“ No blackberry data BBM is unable to connect to the server please try again later”

 

MTN is my carrier , even when i try it on WIFI same error , but i have a connection to everything else

i cant uninstall the BBM app

 

Any ideas

Posts: 94,663
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Z10 BBM error message

Do you have the BIS BlackBerry data plan on your SIM card?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
My Device: z10

Re: BB Z10 BBM error message

no i do not , as i understand it , BB10 doesnt use any blackberry services

Posts: 94,663
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Z10 BBM error message


saf513 wrote:

no i do not , as i understand it , BB10 doesnt use any blackberry services


BlackBerry Messenger does do so.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
My Device: z10

Re: BB Z10 BBM error message

 

ok ..but According to the help docs and manuals iv read on BB10, it doesnt use BIS ..and other peoples BB10's work without it ..Smiley Indifferent

Posts: 94,663
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Z10 BBM error message

BBMessenger still uses BIS.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
My Device: z10

Re: BB Z10 BBM error message

maybe on your network provider but not mine ..BB10 doesnt use BIS

 

i know other people using the device and their BBM works just fine without BIS ...

 

i need a solution to my error please

Posts: 94,663
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Z10 BBM error message

[ Edited ]

OK. You know differently.


saf513 wrote:

.BB10 doesnt use BIS


I didn't say BB10 uses BIS.

I said BBM still uses BIS.

 

Your mobile provider must still now it is a BlackBerry being activated on the network. You need to call them.

Since you've not listed that in your forum profile here, I don't know who your provider is.

 

**Let me add, I can stand to be corrected. I have asked a couple of friends on this and they too are still somewhat confused. I am asking around for clarification. But, I know I have been told that while a generic data plan will work, the provider does need to know it is a BlackBerry on the network.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2013
My Device: z10

Re: BB Z10 BBM error message

ok i use MTN and Vodacom in South Africa

 

both networks do not have a plan that supports BBM only on BB10 ,

according to both networks , the BB10 apps , emails basically all internet access

will work on the BB10 as long as you have data bundles or sufficient airtime ..

 

overall the BB10 cannot be provisioned with a plan ..

as it does not connect via the blackberry.net APN and uses the normal network APN

like all other smartphones

and ofcourse if it is picking up an internet network .

Posts: 94,663
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: BB Z10 BBM error message

Have you called Vodacom or MTN to report this issue and get the issue escalated up to BlackBerry level tech support?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code