Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

9630 Sim and http and Eclipse dev environment

I am able to use the simulators that are installed by the Blackberry plugin for Eclipse to access and internet site and data back from it.

 

I've downloaded the 9630 sim but I can't figure out how to invoke it from the Eclipse dev envirorment. If I invoke it standalone it can't access the internet.

 

How do I access the 9630 sim from the Eclipse dev environment? Is there something I have to configure?

 

Thanks,

Dan

 

Developer
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 9630 Sim and http and Eclipse dev environment

Did you also invoke MDS-CS prior to invoking the simulator?

 

New Developer
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 9630 Sim and http and Eclipse dev environment

What is MDS-CS?

 

When I am in Eclipse I can just press "Run" and the simulator and support for http connections starts and works for the devices in the Blackberry plugin. I'd like to be able to do the same thing for some of the device that don't seem to be part of the Blackberry pluging, for example the Tour 9630.

 

Thanks,

Dan

 

Developer
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 9630 Sim and http and Eclipse dev environment

If you are simulating a BES connection (i.e. no connection parameters in the URL), then you must first start MDS prior to starting the simulator. This is available as a separate package but it also is bundled with the JDE and the Eclipse plugin.

 

Look for the "MDS" directory under your JDE or Eclipse Plugin installation directory.

 

 

 

New Developer
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 9630 Sim and http and Eclipse dev environment

I'm new to Blackberry development and to Eclipse too, so I still not familiar with the techology. BES means Blackberry Enterprise Server? I'm not trying to connect to a Blackberrry server.

 

What I am doing trying to connect to an ordinary internet address, i.e. something like http://photoes.smugmug.com. It's a trivial test program I am working with and it does work on an actual phone (Tour), so my guess is that the code is correct or at least close enough to access the internet.

 

When I use one of the builtin phones in Eclipse by just pressing "Run" a command shell window opens in the background and looks like it is implementing a web server (Apache?). I can run my code and access the internet successfully.

 

However the Blackberry plugin in Eclipse does not appear to simulate the Tour. The standalone simulator does not access the internet. There seem to be a number of different MDS downloads and I have tried installing one of them but it doesn't start. I've gone through setting up the various environment variables as some other notes suggest, but can't get it to run.

 

The Eclipse dev. environment seems pretty painless except for the seeming lack of simulators for the latest phones. Is there a way to either intergrate the Tour simumlator into Eclipse or to get Eclipse to start the MDS so that the standalone Tour simulator can use it?

 

My understanding was that with the Blackberry plugin I could do everything from inside of Eclipse. Maybe there is some additional configuration I need to do?

 

Sorry to pepper you with a bunch of trivial type of questions, but this is a new development environment for me.

 

Thanks,

Dan

 

 

Thanks, 

Dan

 

 

 

Developer
Posts: 4,764
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 9630 Sim and http and Eclipse dev environment

[ Edited ]

MDS is shipped with the JDE packages these days, I guess it is also shipped with the Eclipse package but I don't use it.

 

When you click "run" in Eclipse to start the simulator, it probably starts MDS for you. If you are not adding specific direct-TCP connection parameters to your URL, then you need this to connect. MDS simulates a BES environment for you.

 

You will find the MDS executable in the MDS subdirectory under you Eclipse plugin installation. There is a run.bat file that starts this MDS-CS simulator.

 

One other piece of advice: your test program works on the Tour because you are on Verizon or some other carrier with a TCP stack on the device. This code will stop working when you take it to another network, like AT&T. Please see the sticky thread re: HTTP communications that is posted at the top of this board for more info.

 

 

 

 

 

Message Edited by RexDoug on 08-31-2009 09:20 AM