Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
Developer
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Rogers

9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

I've recently installed the update for the Eclipse plugin which contains the BlackBerry Java SDK 6.0.0.29.

 

When I ran the simulator for 9800, it will only load the LCD Portion of the simulator, and not the key pad or anything around the LCD. I tried using "Simulate > Open Slider", and it doesn't change anything.

 

I have tried re-installing the 6.0.0.29 update as well.

 

Is this normal?

 

I can post screens at a later date if requested.

 

Specs: Win 7

Eclipse 3.5.2

Java Plugin 1.1

Developer
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: 9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

When you run the simulator click on menu item "View" and make sure LCD Only is not selected.

Developer
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: 9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

Sorry, I forgot to mention this option is off.

 

What I see is the LCD Portion and a whole bunch of white space around it.

 

 

Developer
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: 9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

I haven't been able to reproduce it. A screen shot will help when you have time.

Developer
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: 9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

[ Edited ]
Developer
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: 9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

bump

Developer
Posts: 516
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
My Device: 9900

Re: 9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

Wow I have never seen that. Maybe someone else that experienced this can help you.

 

Sorry Smiley Indifferent

Developer
Posts: 174
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: 9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

Have you look in the batch file which the simulator runs from? Is there any parameters in there that look untoward in comparison to other simulators?

Developer
Posts: 87
Registered: ‎02-26-2010
My Device: Bold 9000
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: 9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

@BeMor:

 

I compared the batch files for 9000, 8900 and 9800 and they are the same except for the 9800 part.

 

Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-29-2010
My Device: 8900

Re: 9800 Simulator only loads LCD Portion

[ Edited ]

I had the same problem within vmware player 3.1 under ubuntu 8.04

I got the log message "This computer does not have a 3D graphics system supported by VMware Player." in vmware message log.

A workarround that worked for me is:

In 9800 simulator menu select  View - Graphic Acceleration - Off

(completely disables graphic accelaration)

 

Tomer