Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

New Developer
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

A couple of questions from a newbie

[ Edited ]

I will begin development on a small application for the BB in the next month or so.  Right now I am tasked with writing the requirements and use cases for the application.  Since I have zero mobile development experience I thought I would ask a few questions before I dive right in.  I am hoping to avoid killing the battery life with too much application activity or having an application that is really slow.

I am targetting the BB8830 for this application (internal corporate use)

Questions:

1. Is it better to store data into a flat file (xml) or database (such as Sybases SQL anywhere product) when processor, memory, and battery efficiency are considered to be the most important. 

2. I have seen a lot of documentation on the push functionality through the BES and would like my application to link up with our corporate systems through the BES (for security reasons); can the BES during its push action download files from the phone (such as the xml or database files) and hand them off to a windows service to be processed?  Also if can do this can, upon success, it trigger an event within the third party app I am to write? (mainly to clear the data file so that it doesn't get to large)

Thanks in advance.

Message Edited by BaneNeo on 08-13-2008 04:51 PM
Highlighted
Developer

Re: A couple of questions from a newbie

Not easy questions, and you will get different answers from different folks too!  it might be useful to know a little something about your application to make the most useful comments.

I would suggest that you review the following video, that talks about the constraints of the mobile platform.