Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Developer
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Adding symbols to the symbol menu

Hi all,

 

Forgive my ignorance, but how does one add custom objects to the symbols menu? Is it possible?

 

Sincerely,

mw

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,887
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Adding symbols to the symbol menu

If you are looking to do this accross all applications, then no, this is not possible.

 

This could be done for your own application.  You could create a custon PopupScreen with the existing symbols, as well as your own that is displayed when the user presses the sym key.  You'd need to capture when the sym key is pressed and display your own PopupScreen by overriding the keyDown method found in the Field or Screen classes.

Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
New Developer
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Adding symbols to the symbol menu

Mark,

 

Applications like Google Talk and Yahoo IM seem to be integrated into the existing framework for the SYM key. Did they create their own custom popup, or do they have access to some other mechanism that we 'lowly' developers do not have access to? When the SYM key is pressed in those applications, the SYM screen looks IDENTICAL to the global screen, except with their added symbols.

BlackBerry Development Advisor
Posts: 15,887
Registered: ‎07-09-2008
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Bell

Re: Adding symbols to the symbol menu

These applications were created by RIM.  So they have access to internal APIs to accomplish this.
Mark Sohm
BlackBerry Development Advisor

Please refrain from posting new questions in solved threads.
Problem solved? Click the Accept As Solution button.
Highlighted
New Developer
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Adding symbols to the symbol menu

Well isn't that just special! Smiley Happy

 

Thanks Mark

Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 9000R

Re: Adding symbols to the symbol menu

LOL! Welcome to one of the major issues of development for BlackBerry devices...not enough access to the API's
Developer
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎07-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Adding symbols to the symbol menu

RIM really should reconsider this "closed" policy.  Giving preference to some and not giving access to the entire developer community is not in everyone's best interest.  Granted, for platform stability there has to be some limits, but in general if you want people to develop, you have to give them the tools to do so, and create a level playing field.

 

If developers are not able to deliver high-quality apps, developers will move elsewhere.

 

Just my 0.02 cents.