Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Contributor
My Device: BB 9810
My Carrier: Du-UAE

Alarm clock app

Dear developers,

I would like to get some help & feedback from you

since I'm still new in the development process

I would like to make an Alarm clock app

that is somehow different to the one provided on the devices

Is that possible ?

And how do i get the device time ?

so that i compare it with my app alarm time 

I read that i need to use RealtimeClockListener

and use the clockUpdated() method

but I still need guidance

Your help is highly appreciated

Thanks all,

Hussam

Developer
My Device: Bold 9780
My Carrier: Wind Mobile

Re: Alarm clock app

You can get the current time by using

long timems = System.currentTimeMillis();

use DateFormat to format it how you'd like. You can turn it into day, time, whatever.

SimpleDateFormat dateformat = new SimpleDateFormat("hh:mm aa"); //check java docs for other formatting methods here

http://docs.oracle.com/javase/1.4.2/docs/api/java/text/SimpleDateFormat.html

DateField time = new DateField("", timems, dateformat );

you can convert to a string if thats how you want to display

time.toString();

You can do it in the clockUpdated method, I think it is invoked every minute the clock changes.

Developer
My Device: Not Specified

I'm guessing, because I have seen questions like this before, that this is some kind of assignment you have been given.  Search the forum, other people have asked similar questions about creating alarm clock apps. 

Developer
My Device: Bold 9900
My Carrier: China Unicom

Hi, peter, could you please show me some idears about alarm clock app? I'm writting it now, and I'm facing some problem, thanks a lot!~

Developer

What problems are you facing?

Developer

thanks for your reply!