Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Reply
New Developer
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎04-29-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Animated Screen transitions

hai,

i got it installed

 

kamala

 

New Developer
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎04-29-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Animated Screen transitions

hai mreed,

 

should i refer  those jar files in my application to create the animated screen ,help please

 

kamala

 

Developer
Posts: 1,041
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: ಠ_ಠ

Re: Animated Screen transitions

if you are doing this with the BlackBerry APIs you will need to alter the source code they provide.
New Developer
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎04-29-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Animated Screen transitions

thanks for the reply,

 

I use Eclipse for bb development.I found that there was code for animation screen,should i use this in my application,help pls

 

 

kamala

Developer
Posts: 3,951
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Animated Screen transitions

If it fits your requirement, you can use it.

Use Search. "Accept Solution" If the problem is resolved.
New Developer
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎04-29-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Animated Screen transitions

hai mreed,

 

give me suggestions to proceed with changing the source code of j2me polish screen animation,I tried but was not able to do anything.

 

steps on how to proceed changing the code

 

kamala

Developer
Posts: 1,041
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: ಠ_ಠ

Re: Animated Screen transitions

Sorry you'll have to figure the rest out on your own.
New Developer
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎04-29-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Animated Screen transitions

k,nyways thanks for ur answers till nowSmiley Happy

kamala

Developer
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎07-15-2008
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Animated Screen transitions

Is there any secret to these three steps? If I do them on the same event thread I get the old screen capture instead of the new one. If I push the new screen then do the capture on an InvokeLater thread, I get the new screen capture just fine, but the new screen also flashes briefly which is not desireable.
 
Is there an additional trick here?
 

mreed wrote:

Do it all on the same event thread cycle and you won't see a flash of multiple screens. The magic there is that your screen will have to go through layout and paint before it can display itself anyways... so as long as your animation screen is at all optimized, you shouldn't see any real overhead. But if the animation screen takes seconds to do its bitmap manipulation before displaying itself, then some work needs to be done to speed it up.

 

* push the screen

* take the screenshot

* push the animation screen (once the animation is done, pop it to reveal the "next" screen)

 

I have a fade screen transition in my YouTube app (as seen on crackberry) if you want to see an example. Although the speed is set a little fast right now.

Message Edited by mreed on 05-21-2009 09:23 AM

 

Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,041
Registered: ‎07-16-2008
My Device: ಠ_ಠ

Re: Animated Screen transitions

[ Edited ]
One thing to note is that we don't use the screenshot method from Display. You can also create the Bitmap/Graphics and send it directly into Screen.paint() if you make your paint method public.
Message Edited by mreed on 06-08-2009 11:59 AM