Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

Java Development

Developer
My Device: Not Specified

BIS-B and Alliance Program

I am releasing an App shortly which has been requested to support BIS-B support.

All I really need is the BIS-B connection string - I could really care less about any of the other options in the BlackBerry Allience program.

Not only is the fee pretty steep ($2,400 cdn), but the Members Points is just baffeling - Being an independent developer (and thus, a start up) there is no way I can reach some of these goals on the list - There's no way I can afford to "sponsor" a RIM event, there's no way I can fly to Europe for a Developer Converence. In fact, there is no way to get 45 points on this list without spend exuberant amounts of money, something that as an independent developer I cannot afford both by time or by financial means.

So my question is:

Is there ANY other way to get a BIS-B Connection string without paying $2,400+ dollars a year?

Developer

Re: BIS-B and Alliance Program

If you review this Thread, you will see that Mike Kirkup suggested that BIS-B might come with the 'free' level of Alliance membership, but I have not heard anything since.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Java-Development/New-Alliance-Program-a-good-thing-for-develo...

Developer

Thanks peter.

I wonder (and hope) if this will change, could make or break my app.

Developer

I actually went through the registration process for the Alliance Program in order to get the BIS-B connection string because I'd been having so many problems with a network connection I was working on for an app.

I think the last screen in the registration process was a "we'll review your request and get back to you shortly".  That was months ago.  In the meantime, I'd found a successful alternative solution.